2017 Around the Year in 52 Books | TBR List

Though reading should be something that is not forced, I believe that doing challenges provide color and zing to one’s reading. Aside from having to set a number of books to read, my biggest reading challenge this year is Around the Year in 52 Books. I failed this challenge last year, but I am so close to reaching my goal, that it just fueled me to try again this year.

Challengers have their own say in how to tackle this challenge, and because I am a mood reader, I decided to not to do this in order, like the others are doing. What I did was to have a list in my planner, and just pick the one I feel like reading for that particular moment. By doing so, reading is still fun and not forced. Also, I am using this challenge to read books from my shelves that have been sitting there for a long time, so as to save me money from buying new books.

This is my temporary TBR List. As the year pass by, I might change certain books I don’t feel like reading anymore. Every month end, I will do a recap so you will see how I am doing. Each title is link to its own GoodReads page, if you want to read the synopsis and reviews from people who have read it.

img_2156

  1.  A book from the GoodReads Choice Awards 2016“The Nest” by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, nominated for the Best Fiction category.
  2. A book with multiple perspectives“Testimony” by Anita Shreve
  3. A book you meant to read in 2016“The Help” by Kathryn Stockett
  4. A Title that doesn’t contain the letter E“Skywriting by Word of Mouth” by John Lennon. The book I own only has the main title on its spine, so I won’t count the subtitle “…and other writings including The Ballad of John and Yoko.”
  5. A historical fiction“The Light Between Oceans” by M.L. Stedman
  6. A book being released as a movie in 2017“Before I Fall” by Lauren Oliver
  7. A book with an animal on the cover“If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things” by Jon McGregor, with a flying bird on the cover.
  8. A book written by a person of color“Black Mamba Boy” by Nadifa Mohamed
  9. A book in the middle of your TBR List – *no book yet, to be filled once I create my TBR for Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon.
  10. A dual timeline novel“The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield
  11. A Category from another challenge – For this I chose “The Summer that Melted Everything” by Tiffany McDaniel, a category from the 2017 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge (one of the four seasons in the title)
  12. A book based from a myth“The Battle of the Labyrinth” by Rick Riordan
  13. A book recommended by one of your favorite authors“The Shining Girls” by Lauren Beukes, based from an article I saw about Gillian Flynn’s recommended books.
  14. A book with a strong female character“Anne of Green Gables” by L.M. Montgomery
  15. A book written or set in a Scandinavian country“Heidi” by Johanna Spyri, set in Switzerland.
  16. A mystery“Murder on the Orient Express” by Agatha Christie
  17. A book with illustrations“A Monster Calls” by Patrick Ness
  18. A really long book (600+ pages)“A Little Life” by Hanya Yanagihara, with a whopping 720 pages.
  19. A New York Times Bestseller“Escape from Mr. Limoncello’s Library” by Chris Grabenstein
  20. A book you’ve owned for a while but haven’t gotten around reading it“The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” by Kim Edwards
  21. A book that is a continuation of a book you’ve already read“The Last Olympian” by Rick Riordan
  22. A book by an author you haven’t read before“The Unbearable Lightness of Being” by Milan Kundera
  23. A book from the BBC “The Big Read” list“I Capture the Castle” by Dodie Smith
  24. A book written by at least two authors“My True Love Gave to Me” edited by Stephanie Perkins, an anthology of Christmas short stories written by twelve authors.
  25. A book about a famous historical figure“The Name of the Star” by Maureen Johnson, a book inspired by Jack the Ripper
  26. An adventure book“The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn” by Mark Twain
  27. A book by one of your favorite authors“Another Day” by David Levithan
  28. A non-fiction“M Train” by Patti Smith
  29. A book published outside the 4 major publishing houses“Marrow” by Tarryn Fisher
  30. A book from GoodReads Top 100 YA Books“On the Jellicoe Road” by Melina Marchetta
  31. A book from a sub-genre of your favorite genre“Night” by Elie Wiesel. My favorite genre is historical fiction, and from there I selected non-fiction as its sub-genre.
  32. A book with a very long title (5+ words, not including the subtitle)“By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept” by Paulo Coelho
  33. A magical realism book“Everybody Sees the Ants” by A.S. King
  34. A book set in or written by an author from the Southern Hemisphere“I am the Messenger” by Markus Zusak, an author from Australia.
  35. A book where one of the characters is royalty“The Rose and the Dagger” by Renée Ahdieh
  36. A Hugo Award winner or nominee“Fahrenheit 451” by Ray Bradbury
  37. A book you chose randomly“Have a Little Faith” by Mitch Albom. I wanted to start my reading year with a Mitch Albom book, this I randomly chose for this year.
  38. A novel inspired by a work of classic literature“Winter” by Marissa Meyer, inspired by the classic fairy tale, Snow White.
  39. An epistolary fiction“The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
  40. A book published in 2017“Swimming Lessons” by Claire Fuller
  41. A book with unreliable character“Engleby” by Sebastian Faulks
  42. A “Best of the 21st Century” so far“The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  43. A book with a chilling atmosphere“Misery” by Stephen King
  44. A recommendation from “What I should read next?”“The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas” by John Boyne. I keyed in “The Book Thief,” and this was the book recommended to me.
  45. A book with a one-word title“Atonement” by Ian McEwan
  46. A time travel novel“The Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger
  47. A past suggestion that didn’t win“Everything I Never Told You” by Celeste Ng, from the suggestion “a book with liquid on the cover”
  48. A banned book“Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov
  49. A book from someone else’s book shelf“My Lady Jane” by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. For this prompt, I checked out my friend Krish’s bookcase and chose one book that sparked my interest to read.
  50. A Penguin modern classic“A Clockwork Orange” by Anthony Burgess
  51. A collection (of essays, short stories, etc.)“Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman” by Haruki Murakami, a collection of twenty-four short stories.
  52. A book set in a fictional location“Station Eleven” by Emily St. John Mandel

If you wish to do this challenge, too, check out the official GR Page – Around the Year in 52 Books. There you will get to interact with other bookworms doing the challenge, who can answer pretty much everything you need.

I truly wish I can finish this challenge this time around.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Around the Year in 52 Books, Reading Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

