2016 Around the Year in 52 Books (wrap-up)

2016 wasn’t a very good reading year for me. All the challenges and plans I set myself to do weren’t met, but even so, I think it is just appropriate for me to report how much I read from this challenge. At the start of the year, I listed books I plan to read for the different prompts, and while some of those books I wasn’t able to read, there were books I have read that fit into the category, so allow me to use those instead of the books I initially indicated.

Instead of giving a rundown of all the challenges, I will just list those I didn’t get to read, followed with the books I managed to read.

Challenges I didn’t get to do –

  1. A book you meant to read in 2015, but didn’t – “The Heart of Betrayal” by Mary E. Pearson. I just couldn’t get into it.
  2. A book about books – The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.
  3. A book from the Goodreads Recommendations page – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.
  4. A book whose main character is in a profession that interests you – The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller, a book related to photography.
  5. A novella from your favorite genre – A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  6. A previous suggestion that did not make it into the list – For this I will go for “A book with a number in the title,” which is Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

Challenges I was able to do –

  1. A book set in a different continent – “Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent, set in Ireland (Europe). I am from Asia, by the way.
  2. A book from the Goodreads Choice Awards 2015 (winner or nominated) – “More Happy Than Not” by Adam Silvera, nominated for Best Young Adult Fiction.
  3. A book by an author you discovered in 2015 – Ask the Passengers by A.S. King; I discovered her in 2015, but haven’t read any of her books yet. This is my first book by her, and I liked it.
  4. A book with a title beginning with the 1st letter of your name – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Oh wow, I thought I wouldn’t cross this off the list. Hahaha.
  5. The highest rated on your TBR – For this, I checked my February TBR and the highest rated book on my list is November 9 by Colleen Hoover, with 4.59 average rating at that time.
  6. A classic book with less than 200 pages – “Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck
  7. A book that was mentioned in another book – “Just Kids” by Patti Smith, mentioned in the book “The Serpent King” by Jeff Zentner.
  8. A book by an author you feel you should have read by now – “Animal Farm” by George Orwell
  9. A book from the Rory Gilmore challenge – “Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders” by Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry
  10. A childhood classic – “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll. Yes, it was only this year that I got to read this.
  11. Reader’s choice – The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom. I went for this book as it was my first read of the year.
  12. A book with one of the five W’s or H in the title (Who/What/Where/When/Why/How) – “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running” by Haruki Murakami. What and when, hehehe.
  13. A book set in the past (more than 100 years ago) – Sinful by Charlotte Featherstone, set during the English Victorian era.
  14. A book from the top 100 mystery novels – The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan. I decided to choose my book from this list.
  15. A book with a beautiful cover – “The Assassin’s Curse” by Cassandra Rose Clarke. Not my favorite book cover, but it’s just beautiful…you’ll agree with me when you see it.
  16. A book on a summer/beach reading list – “Just One Day” by Gayle Forman, listed on the summer book recommendations by Read by Zoe on booktube.
  17. A non-fiction book – “The Opposite of Loneliness” by Marina Keegan
  18. A book with a first name in the title – “The Song of Achilles” by Madeline Miller
  19. The first book in a new to you series – “The Merciless” by Danielle Vega
  20. The next book in a series you are reading – “Scarlet” by Marissa Meyer, the second book in the Lunar Chronicles.
  21. A “between the numbers” book of a series (0.5, 1,5, 2.5, etc.) – Fairest by Marissa Meyer, book 3.5 in the Lunar Chronicles.
  22. A book everyone is talking about – “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes
  23. A book with a beautiful title (in your own opinion) –  “God-Shaped Hole” by Tiffanie DeBartolo
  24. A biography, autobiography, or memoir – “Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness” by Susannah Cahalan
  25. A book by an author who writes under more than one name – “Dangerous Girls” by Abigail Haas, a pseudonym of the writer Abby MacDonald.
  26. A fairy tale from a culture other than your own – “The Little Mermaid” by Hans Christian Andersen
  27. A work of young adult fiction – “The Serpent King” by Jeff Zentner
  28. A historical fiction book – “Between Shades of Gray” by Ruta Sepetys, set in Lithuania during WW2.
  29. The 16th book on your TBR – “Don’t Look Back” by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  30. A book about mental illness – “Made You Up” by Francesca Zappia
  31. An award winning book – “The Narrow Road to the Deep North” by Richard Flanagan, winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize.
  32. An identity book (a book about a different culture, religion or sexual orientation) – “Not Without My Sister” by Celeste Jones, Kristina Jones, and Juliana Buhring, sisters who were born into the Children of God cult.
  33. A book that you’ve seen the movie of but haven’t read – “The Stepford Wives” by Ira Levin. I watched the Nicole Kidman/Bette Midler movie version years ago, but it was this year that I got to read the actual book where it was adapted from.
  34. A book about an anti hero – “A Court of Thorns and Roses” by Sarah J. Maas. Rhysand!
  35. A book about a major world event (fiction or non-fiction) – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, a book related to the 9/11 Terrorist Attacks.
  36. A top 100 fantasy novel – “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle
  37. A book about a thing that goes bump in the night – “Heart Shaped Box” by Joe Hill
  38. A book you’re embarrassed to read in public – Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher. That cover! Hahaha.
  39. A book related to a hobby or passion you have – The Middlesteins by Jami Attenberg, which is a book about food.
  40. A crime story – “Promise Not to Tell” by Jennifer McMahon
  41. A book with a type of food/drink in the title – “The House on Mango Street” by Sandra Cisneros
  42. A dystopia – “Noughts and Crosses” by Malorie Blackman
  43. A book with a great opening line – “The Grownup” by Gillian Flynn. First line of the book goes, “I didn’t stop giving handjobs because I wasn’t good at it. I stopped giving hand jobs because I was the best at it.”
  44. A book originally written in a language other than English – The Vegetarian by Han Kang, originally written in Korean.
  45. A short story from a well-known author – “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell
  46. A book published in 2016 – “The Mothers” by Brit Bennett

So, so sad that I only have six books unread to finish this project, but oh well, better luck next year. I am already in the process of choosing the books for 2017 Around the Year in 52 Books, and as soon as I finished that, I will share it here on the blog.

Were you able to do the reading challenges you set yourself to do?

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Around the Year in 52 Books, Reading Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

