October to December 2016 Reading Wrap-Up

Copying what I wrote on my last post – Blogging took a backseat in 2016 because of so many reasons, but new year brings a lot of optimism, so here I am again, trying and hoping I could be active in blogging again.

Anyway, I can’t move forward to 2017 without doing a proper closure to 2016, so for the next few posts, allow me to do such, starting with the books I read from the last quarter of 2016.

OCTOBER

octwrap01

1 – “The Middlesteins” by Jami Attenberg
Genre – Literary Fiction, Contemporary
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 201
Rating – ★★★★

First time I read a novel with a main character being a food addict… it was good, really good in many levels, but given the main character’s weight, I felt it wasn’t really that heavy for her life to go downward spiral like that…I mean, there are people nearly 700lbs and still rocking it as if they’re the skinniest bitch in town.

2 – “My Heart and Other Black Holes” by Jasmine Warga
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary, Mental Illness
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 302
Rating – ★★★

It had a good message, but it was cheesy and predictable.

3 – “Made You Up” by Francesca Zappia
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary, Mental Illness
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 448
Rating – ★★★

A much better book than my last read, but still just average for my own liking.

4 – “The Merciless” by Danielle Vega
Genre – Young Adult, Horror, Paranormal
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 279
Rating – ★★★★

The gory that I hoped to read in “Dangerous Girls” I found here. Gahhh, this satisfied me immensely! The cliffhanger in the end was abrupt, but wow…what a way to end the story!

octwrap02

5 – “George’s Marvelous Medicine” by Roald Dahl
Genre – Children, Fantasy
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 89
Rating – ★★

My first Dahl book, and though I know his stories has this dark undertone and has to be taken with a grain of salt, that last scene just totally turned me off especially knowing this is a children’s book.

6 – “The Little Mermaid” by Hans Christian Andersen
Genre – Childrens, Classics, Fairy Tales
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 48
Rating – ★★★

If you loved the Disney movie, do yourself a favor of not reading this. It will stir the happy memories you’ve had about this story.

7 – “Don’t Look Back” by Danielle Vega
Genre – Young Adult, Mystery, Suspense Thriller
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 384
Rating – ★★★

Very suspenseful indeed, but if you’re into mystery books and movies (and TV shows), you will actually get the clue 1/4 of the way into the story. Though I managed to crack the secret, it still managed to surprised me when the reason behind everything was revealed in the end.

8 – “The Vegetarian” by Han Kang
Genre – Adult, Literary Fiction
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 192
Rating – ★★★★

One of the most disturbing books I’ve read this year. It was difficult to express into words how I feel about it, but once you read this, it will never leave your head. You will think and think and think about it, in hopes of tying things up or understanding things up.

octwrap03

9 – “Sinful” by Charlotte Featherstone
Genre – Historical Fiction, Romance, Erotica
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 368
Rating –

A sequel to “Addicted,” which I gave 5 stars… this book failed miserably in many levels.

10 – “On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts” by Thomas de Quincey
Genre – Classics, Non-Fiction, Essays
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 56
Rating – ★★★

Such an informative and interesting essay.

11 – “Animal Farm” by George Orwell
Genre – Classics, Dystopia
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 140
Rating – ★★★★★

Oh my freakin’ gosh, this book! It was entertaining and funny, but wow, once you take those out, you will realize the depth of this story.

octwrap04

12 – “The Universe of Us” by Lang Leav
Genre – Poetry, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 240
Rating – ★★★

Ummm… it was okay, but I still like her book “Memories” more.

13 – “More Happy Than Not” by Adam Silvera
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQIA+
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 293
Rating – ★★★

The message it wanted to convey was delivered well, but I seriously didn’t like the journey leading to it. It felt like it was trying hard to be a John Green novel.

14 – “Promise Not to Tell” by Jennifer McMahon
Genre – Mystery, Thriller Suspense
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 250
Rating – ★★★

Though I only gave this three stars, I did love the way the story was told…it was chilling, it was disturbing, and I am looking forward to reading more of her books.

NOVEMBER

novwrap01

1 – “Heart-Shaped Box” by Joe Hill
Genre – Horror
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 406
Rating – ★★★★

Funny how a horror story didn’t scare me at all, but I do have to admit it was pretty scary. Maybe I just conditioned my mind not to be scared about it, so all the time I was reading it, I have my own security blanket protecting me.

2 – “Noughts & Crosses” by Malorie Blackman
Genre – Young Adult, Dystopia
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 479
Rating – ★★★

Very interesting way of telling an alternate history where the blacks rule and the whites considered the second-class citizens, but I was a little disappointed at the very idea of it.

3 – “The Mothers” by Brit Bennett
Genre – Literary Fiction, Contemporary
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 278
Rating – ★★★★★

This is the kind of story I live for – more on character development and less on the plot. Though the plot of the novel was awesome as well.

novwrap02

4 – “The Serpent King” by Jeff Zentner
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary
Format – eBook
Number of Pages –384
Rating – ★★★★

The idea of “The Serpent King” (the person) didn’t amaze me one bit.. I find it a little corny… but his very idea clouding over one man’s life and destiny made up for it big time.

5 – “The Way I Used to Be” by Amber Smith
Genre – Young Adult, Realistic Fiction
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 384
Rating – ★★

I do get that people have different ways of coping up…but this one is too over the top for me.

6 – “Just Kids” by Patti Smith
Genre – Non-Fiction, Memoir
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 306
Rating – ★★★★★

This book…wow, just wow! Finishing this, I always fight back the tears whenever I see the book anywhere.

DECEMBER

decwrap

1 – “This Song Will Save Your Life” by Leila Sales
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 288
Rating – ★★★

It was okay. Lol.

2 – “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Brontë
Genre – Classics, Dystopia
Format – leatherbound
Number of Pages – 507
Rating – ★★★★

Being someone living in the 21st century, my opinions about certain matters within this book were obviously different, but I did enjoy the time I spent reading this.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in 2016 Book List, Monthly Wrap-Up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

