October to December 2016 Book Haul

Blogging took a backseat in 2016 because of so many reasons, but new year brings a lot of optimism, so here I am again, trying and hoping I could be active in blogging again.

Anyway, I can’t move forward to 2017 without doing a proper closure to 2016, so for the next few posts, allow me to do such, starting with the books I received from the last quarter of 2016.

OCTOBER

oct01

As always, these books were purchased from Book Outlet – “The Martian” I bought because I want to own physical copies of my yearly Top 10 Books. This was one of my favorite reads in 2015, and I sooo want to own the book with this cover, so when I saw it available on Book Outlet, I added it on my list, along with “A Man Called Ove,” which was one of the books on my wish list. I do love books with elderly characters, and even if I personally prefer the blue cover, this one was priced reasonably (the one I like was more expensive), so I ordered it.

oct02

The day “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” hit the stores, Potterheads were so busy trying to get their own copies, and through the chaos, Amazon had a flash sale for the “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” illustrated edition. From 20-something dollars, it became 8 dollars, something that made us friends crazy. I personally had to think of many issues (would I be willing to collect all 7, could I afford it all, would I appreciate the books as I get older), but in the end I decided to order a copy, because it was only 8 freakin’ dollars. If this turns out to be the only illustrated HP book I own, let it be that way, but of course I am praying there will be more flash sales ’til I complete all seven books.

NOVEMBER

nov

In November, I only bought two books – both from my trusted book seller online, Librodega. Both of these books were on my wish list, so no hesitations in buying.

DECEMBER

dec01

For the last month of the year, my sister gifted me with two books. “A Monster Calls” was technically her thank you gift because I always prepare her packed breakfast. She was supposed to give this on Thanksgiving (even if us Filipinos don’t celebrate it), but I told her to just wait for Christmas, and in the end she told me to choose two books. I decided to go for “It’s Kind of a Funny Story” because I long wanted to read it, and the book wasn’t as expensive.

dec02

Early December, Pam (of Phamtasticreads on Instagram) had a giveaway. She asked her followers what was that book that made her fall in love with reading, and I knew the answer to this because it was through her old posts that I got to know about it. I wasn’t expecting to win because one person already gave the right answer, but just for the fun of it, I answered, and I won! I am now so looking forward to reading this and the rest of the books in the series.

dec03

Last, but not the least, I received these books from @ayashajanille (Instagram). Our book club – @bookishpinoys – hosted a bookish blind date during Christmastime, and I picked this book based on the five keywords given. Though I was surprised to receive a sequel instead of the first book in the series, I am still very grateful to have received this as many bookstagrammers love the series in general. I will just buy the first and last books in the trilogy, and then I will read ’em. I guess this is life telling me to add more fantasy books on my list. Hahaha. Also, she gave me another book – Escape from Mr. Limoncello’s Library – which looks like a fun book to read.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in 2016 Book Inventory, Book Haul, Book Inventory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

