Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (Oct 2016)

When I joined last April’s readathon (details HERE), I was so happy to have read books I would never imagine I could read in 24 hours. I knew after finishing that readathon that I would join the next round, but in all honesty, I forgot about it, until a fellow bookstagrammer posted her TBR a few days before the October readathon. That being said, I had a very short time deciding what to read, so a day before the schedule, I sat down, took a look at my books and started gathering books that I wanted to read.

tbr

I decided to pick five books to read. Like the last readathon, I went for short books, because I admit I need to push my reading as I am 16 books behind my reading challenge for the year. Though short, I think these books also make up for the “quality” aspect of reading, as these have made their mark in the literary scene one way or another. However, as these books were picked “at the last minute,” I also had eBooks on standby just in case my reading mood changes.

The readathon started at 8PM here. If you still don’t know, Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon is unique in the sense that all participants start their reading at the same time, which is 8AM US Eastern Standard Time. I am happy that it fell on a favorable time for me because I didn’t have to make a lot of adjustments just to have a peaceful reading time. Also, I am so grateful for the new IG Stories, I was able to update my progress using it, without really having to flood my Instagram timeline.

recap01 recap02 recap03

recap04 recap06 recap05

recap07 recap09 recap08

These are the nine updates I posted on Instagram. The final books I read were different from my TBR, because it was quite difficult to read a physical book very late at night and I felt reading an eBook was more comfortable for me. I got to finish three books before calling it a night, but my progress wasn’t good after that because I wasn’t able to read a big chunk of Sunday’s afternoon as sister and I went to mall to eat lunch and do grocery shopping. We got home around 6PM, and it was just not enough to finish a book.

Though I didn’t get to read a lot compared to the last readathon, I am so happy that I was able to read the books I decided to read, especially reading “Animal Farm” by Geoge Orwell, which has been a book I wanted to read for a long time now. I admit, reading Lang Leav’s “The Universe of Us” was just a filler, because I know it wouldn’t eat a lot of time reading her books.

Answering the end of readathon survey –

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? That would be around 9am to 12 noon. Although I called it a night at 2:30ish in the morning, I didn’t actually fall asleep that easily, and waking up at 5am because of a weird scare I had in the house (a story on its own), I decided not to go back to bed and just read another book. It was such a struggle reading that book because my head was heavy and aching, and I did fall asleep a few times and my phone fell on my face once or twice while reading.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Pick out a few children’s books as these books are often adventurous and very interesting. If you are a reader who goes for quantity (that is, finishing more books instead of hitting a “number of pages read” goal, I highly recommend reading fairy tale classics.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? Well, Instagram has been a part of the readathon now, so at the moment I don’t any suggestions.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? It worked well that I listened to the audiobook edition while reading the actual book. It made reading easier and it prevented me from doing unnecessary distractions.
  5. How many books did you read? Four and 1/3. Lol.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I read “On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts” by Thomas de Quincey, “Animal Farm” by George Orwell, “The Universe of Us” by Lang Leav, “More Happy Than Not” by Adam Silvera, and 1/3 of “Promise Not to Tell” by Jennifer McMahon.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Oh, that would be “Animal Farm” by George Orwell.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Partly, I didn’t enjoy “More Happy Than Not” by Adam Silvera. It had a good message, but because I was sleepy when I read it, I truly felt the struggle.
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely! As usual, I will be the reader, but next readathon, I will only aim for two books, because I want to join the mini games, too.

If you are interested to join this readathon, the next one will be on April 29, 2017.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

