June to September 2016 Reading Wrap-Up

When the year started, I felt this year would be the best reading year, with all the readathons and reading challenges I decided to join in. However, this turned out to be the slowest reading year I have had so far, and with so many failed readathons and being behind on my goal of reading 100 books this year, I am starting to feel scared that I might not be able to hit all my goals I set for myself.

Anyway, a wrap-up of my reading for the past four months –

JUNE

junewrap01

1 – “More Than This” by Patrick Ness
Genre – Young Adult, Sci-Fi
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 480
Rating – ★★★★

This was my first Patrick Ness book and I wasn’t disappointed. The whole atmosphere was creepy and a little confusing, but it was really good.

2 – “The Highest Hiding Place” by L. Lacambra Ypil
Genre – Filipiniana, Poetry
Format – paperback
Number of Pages – 81
Rating – ★★★

It was a good thing to read a Filipino poetry book, but this is not a genre for me, so I don’t have a clue what is good and bad when it comes to poems, so I will just keep it at a safe three stars as I did get to finish it without much complaints.

3 – “In Perfect Light” by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ+
Format – hardcover
Number of Pages – 336
Rating – ★★★★★

This book seals the deal. He is now part of my “favorite authors” list.

junewrap02

4– “The Song of Achilles” by Madeline Miller
Genre – Young Adult, Mythology, Retelling
Format –paperback
Number of Pages – 378
Rating – ★★★

I did love it, yes… but I wasn’t totally blown away.

5 – “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes
Genre – Adult Fiction, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 385
Rating – ★★★★★

I got to watch the movie first, but wow, it was surprising to know how the book was a thousand times better than the movie. I have so many things to tell about this book, but I will just save all my words for a proper review post.

JULY

julywrap

1 – “Between Shades of Gray” by Ruta Sepetys
Genre – Historical Fiction, Young Adult
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 344
Rating – ★★★★★

I knew of this book’s existence since 2013, but it was just now that I was able to read it. Omygosh, why did I wait this long? But yes, all the rumors were true… this book is amazing!

2 – “The Thirty Nine Steps” by John Buchan
Genre – Crime, Adult Fiction
Format – paperback
Number of Pages – 108
Rating – ★★

Ummm, this book is just not for me, I did get the jist of it, but wasn’t to amazed.

AUGUST

augwrap

1 – “Brain on Fire (My Month of Madness)” by Susannah Cahalan
Genre – Non-Fiction, Mental Health
Format – paperback
Number of Pages – 266
Rating – ★★★★★

Very well written and very concise.

2 – “Dangerous Girls” by Abigail Haas
Genre – Young Adult, Psychological Thriller, Mystery
Format – paperback
Number of Pages – 388
Rating – ★★★★

Oh, this one is soo good, but there’s just a little something missing that made me not give it a full 5 stars. But for all it’s worth, it was one of the best YA reads I have had.

SEPTEMBER

sepwrap01

1 – “The Art of War” by Sun Tzu
Genre – Classics, Non-fiction
Format – leatherbound
Number of Pages – 128
Rating – ★★★★

It was interesting and very informative. I liked that it wasn’t really just for actual warfare, but every day people can find inspiration from here, too (for reaching personal goals).

2 – “The Grownup” by Gillian Flynn
Genre – Adult Fiction, Mystery, Short Story
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 64
Rating – ★★★★

It was short, yes… but typical to Gillian Flynn’s style, it was crazy and dizzying in a very good way. Too bad it was that short. I wanted to read more.

3 – “It Ends With Us” by Colleen Hoover
Genre – Adult Fiction, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 384
Rating – ★★★★

A very bold move for Ms. Hoover to write this book, but I do believe she released this book at the right time in her career. I had a few issues with it, but for all it’s worth, I am glad I got to read this.

sepwrap02

4 – “Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck
Genre – Classics
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 128
Rating – ★★★

Such a tragic short story, but I have a feeling it’s not for me.

5 – “Just One Day” by Gayle Forman
Genre – Young Adult, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 385
Rating – ★★★★

The first part didn’t do much for me, but the second half totally made up for it.

blogdivider

Updating my Around the Year in 52 Books challenge, I ticked off…

  • A classic with less than 200 pages – Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • A book from the Top 100 Mystery Novels – The Thirty Nine Steps by John Buchan
  • A book on a summer / beach reading list – Just One Day by Gayle Forman (taken from ReadByZoe’s summer reading list)
  • A book with a first name on the title – The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  • A book everyone is talking about – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • A crime story – Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
  • A book with a great opening line – The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Monthly Wrap-Up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

