May 2016 Reading Wrap-Up

May for me started great. My reading pace has been good, and for a while I thought I could read many books (just like in April), but the second half of the month was a whirlwind, making it difficult for me to catch up on reading. By the end of the month, I ready only 5 books.

wrapup1

First set of books I read were for #ayearathon. For the month of May, it’s all about series catch-up, and I decided to continue reading The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

1 – “Scarlet” by Marissa Meyer
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Retelling
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 464
Rating – ★★★★

⇒ Super impressed with this book! I loved how the author worked her way through the original “Little Red Riding Hood,” while also telling the continuation of Cinder’s story.

2 – “Cress” by Marissa Meyer
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Retelling
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 560
Rating – ★★★

⇒ This book had some lull moments, but I still loved it!

3 – “Fairest” by Marissa Meyer
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Retelling
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 256
Rating – ★★★★★

⇒ Whoa, just whoa! If you want to read this series, don’t ever skip this one.

“Fairest” put me on a spell. After reading it, I wanted to continue with “Winter,” but I had so many books on my TBR that I had to put it aside. However, I just couldn’t concentrate on reading anything, because I wanted to finish the series so bad. I would read a book from my TBR, but every chance I got, I would listen to “Winter” on audiobook.

wrapup2

4 – “A Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J. Maas
Genre – New Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 640
Rating – ★★

⇒ Reading this ate too much of my time and for a very long book, it wasn’t as complete as I hoped it would be. There were good moments, yes… but sadly I am one of the very few ones who didn’t really like it.

5 – “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running” by Haruki Murakami
Genre – Non-Fiction, Memoir
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 180
Rating – ★★★★

⇒ It is my mission this year to read one non-fiction every month. At the start of the month, I already chose this as my non-fiction book, and I was grateful for doing so, because it was short, it was a quick read…and a great way to recover from a not-so-good reading experience.

Five books. Not that good quantity wise, but of course a book read is still a book read. At this point, I truly need to be more focused on my reading, so all my goals will be hit by the end of the year.

Updating my Around the Year in 52 Books, I ticked off:

  • The next book in a series you are reading – Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  • A “between the numbers” book of a series (0.5, 1,5, 2.5, etc.) – Fairest by Marissa Meyer, book 3.5 in the Lunar Chronicles
  • A book about an anti hero – A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

June will be a better month, I promise.

bookblogsig

 

This entry was posted in Monthly Wrap-Up, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

