The Pasta Book Tag

Tags are supposed to be done every Sundays, but my gosh, May has been one heck of a busy month for me that I wasn’t able to really sit down and update this blog. I really should have a sense of direction, but one of these days I will look into things and plan how to manage my time wisely.0

Anyway, my dear friend Eunice (nerdytalksbookblog), tagged me to do The Pasta Book Tag and because I still haven’t done a book photo shoot for the book talks I want to share here, I decided to break my schedule and do this for today.

Processed with VSCO

1. Macaroni & Cheese- The most heartfelt work you ever read.

〉〉〉 For me it would have to be “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio. I think a lot of people have read this already, but if you still haven’t, please do. This middle-grade book had a good mix of different emotions, and it was so good reading the story based from different points of view. You may or may not cry in the end, but one thing’s for sure, this story will touch you.

2. Spaghetti & Meatballs- A work you know inside and out (like you can twirl with your fork).

〉〉〉 For the simple reason that I re-read this maybe five times, it would have to be the whole “Fifty Shades of Grey” series (minus “Grey,” the book based from Christian’s POV) by E.L. James. I do know the book by heart, but not to the point of knowing each line. Hahahaha.

3. Lasagna- A work filled with complex layers.

〉〉〉 First to come to mind would be “Before Ever After” by Samantha Sotto. Actually, the writing style of this book was similar to “When the Elephants Dance” by Tess Uriza-Holthe (both were Filipino literature), but “Before Ever After” was more complex because it has magical realism or fantasy elements to it, coupled with some Filipino folklore. It was a good book, but I admit reading it was challenging.

4. Stuffed Shells- A work that is attention grabbing (stuffed with goodness) from start to finish.

〉〉〉 Definitely “And Then There Were None” by Agatha Christie. This classic whodunit thriller will keep you guessing ’til the very end. You think you know it, but I tell you.. you don’t.

5. Penne Vodka- A work for a younger audience with an adult theme hidden inside.

〉〉〉 Difficult to think of a book, but I guess “Fairest” by Marissa Meyer would fit this category. Yes, young adults are not so young, but wow, this book was so heavy on the hate it left me catching my breath.

6. Elbow Macaroni- A work that is easy to read.

〉〉〉 For me that would be “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott. Being a classic, I really thought it would be difficult for me to read it, but surprisingly, I breezed through it.

7. Farfalle (Bow Ties)- A work you would read to catch someone’s attention.

〉〉〉 Ummm, the thing is, I don’t read to catch anyone’s attention, but I think “Mud Vein” by Tarryn Fisher is a book that would catch anyone’s attention if you decide to read the physical book in public.

8. Noodles- A long work that was a great experience to read.

〉〉〉 “The Steel Seraglio” by Mike Carey, Linda Carey, and Louise Carey is the perfect book for this. It was a long book, and I think it took me two weeks to read it, but I surely loved every minute of it. It was well crafted, and something I am so grateful to have read in my lifetime.

9. Lo Mein- Your favorite work of Eastern literature or about the east.

〉〉〉 I could name something from my own country, but I will go for “Norwegian Wood” by Haruki Murakami. It is another complex book to read, but if you want to get to know Murakami’s work, I suggest you start here.

10. Ditalini- A writer you feel is essential to a particular genre.

〉〉〉 David Levithan = LGBTQ+ books.

11. Favorite Pasta- What’s your favorite pasta?

〉〉〉 Spaghetti. Other types of pasta taste like flour to me, but I can eat boiled spaghetti with butter and cheese without complaints.

12. Sunday Night at Grandma’s- Who do you nominate to complete this tag?

〉〉〉 Awwww…. no one? I don’t know who to tag, actually. Hehehehe. If you want to do the tag, feel free to do so. 🙂

Jayne

 

 

This entry was posted in Book Tags. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

