April 2016 Reading Wrap-Up

It was a goal this month to read more than three books (because that’s the amount of books I read this time last year), but at the start of the month, I had a big hurdle to get over with. It was one of the toughest reading experiences I had to endure, and though the book was indeed good, I seriously hope I would never face that kind of reading slump ever again.

Surprisingly, I got to read 13 works of literature this month –

IMG_9904

First set of books were for #ayearathon (April 05 – 10). This month’s prompt was “Rereads,” and I chose to read three books:

IMG_9721

1 – “Eleanor & Park” by Rainbow Rowell
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 328
Rating – ★★★★

⇒ I chose to read this also for @bookishpinoys’s BPRewind activity. Still a 4 star read for me, but I was grateful to have read this again, because I now have a deep understanding of the story. My full review can be read HERE.

2 – “The Sea of Tranquility” by Katja Millay
Genre – Young Adult, Contemporary
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 434
Rating – ★★★★

⇒ Loved it then, loved it more the second time around.

3 – “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 400
Rating – ★★★

⇒ Decided to read this because next month’s #ayearathon will be “Series Catch-Up,” and I planned to continue reading the Lunar Chronicles. A very good refresher, and I am now ready for Scarlet, Cress, and Queen Levana (I won’t be reading Winter yet)

After #ayearathon, I decided to read books on my TBR list…

IMG_9714

4 – “The Narrow Road to the Deep North” by Richard Flanagan
Date Read – 15 April 2016
Genre – Historical Fiction
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 397
Rating – ★★★★

This was the hurdle I faced this month. I started reading this the last few days of March, continued a little before #ayearathon, but I couldn’t connect to it. After #ayearathon, I decided to pick it up again and pushed myself ’til I finished it. It was already halfway through the month when I finally did.

20160417_145510

5 – “Ask the Passengers” by A.S. King
Date Read – 20 April 2016
Genre – LGBTQ+, Young Adult, Contemporary
Format – hardback
Number of Pages – 304
Rating – ★★★★

⇒ I knew I wanted to read an A.S. King book, and I don’t know why, on my very first TBR List draft, I listed “Everybody Sees the Ants,” but read this instead. This effs up my future #ayearathon TBR because on “LGBTQ+” prompt, I listed this book. Now, I have to find a replacement for it.

manson

   6 – “Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders” 
by Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry
Date Read – 23 April 2016
Genre – Non-Fiction, True Crime
Format – eBook / audiobook
Number of Pages – 698
Rating – ★★★★★

⇒ The longest book I read so far, it was easy for me to read (and listen), because I already knew the jist of the story based on the documentaries I have watched in the past. Still, knowing the full story was better, and what a pleasure to listen to Vincent Bugliosi (+) narrate the book.

23rd of April, I joined another readathon – Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (click the link if you want to read my full experience). I had to make a new TBR list for this as I wanted to finish as much, and I read…

IMG_9866

7 – “Aphorisms on Love and Hate” by Friedrich Nietzsche
Date Read – 23 April 2016
Genre – Classics, Non-Fiction, Essays
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 55
Rating – ★★★

⇒ Short, but full of wonderful words.

8“She’s Dating the Gangster” by Bianca B. Bernardino
Date Read – 23 April 2016
Genre – Filipino Literature, Young Adult, Contemporary
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 143
Rating – ★

⇒ Definitely one of the worst books I’ve read this year.

9 – “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell
Date Read – 24 April 2016
Genre –  Young Adult, Contemporary, Short Stories
Format – mass market paperback
Number of Pages – 62
Rating – ★★★★★

⇒ What a fun, fun read!

10 – “Boy Meets Boy” by David Levithan
Date Read – 24 April 2016
Genre –  Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ+
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 223
Rating – ★★★

⇒ A good book, but so far the weakest Levithan book I have read.

11 – “Lullabies” by Lang Leav
Date Read – 24 April 2016
Genre –  Poetry, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 250
Rating – ★★

⇒ Okay, but not as good as her previous book, “Love and Misadventure.”

12 – “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson
Date Read – 24 April 2016
Genre –  Horror, Dystopia, Short Stories
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 9
Rating – ★★★

⇒Definitely a WTF kind of book. It was shocking, it was good… but I agree with my friends’s rants, it doesn’t hold as much shock value as it had many years ago.

I tried to read one more book for the readathon, but I ran out of time. I did take a few days break, then continued with that last book.

IMG_8652

13 – “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” by Jennifer E. Smith
Date Read – 27 April 2016
Genre –  Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format – trade paperback
Number of Pages – 236
Rating – ★★★

⇒ Oh man…why did I have to face distractions that last few hours of readathon? This was actually a very quick read, but oh well. 🙂

After finishing that book, I started reading “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Brontë, but obviously I wasn’t able to finish it. Will just read it in May.

Update on Around the Year in 52 Books, I ticked off from the list:

  • A book by an author you discovered in 2015 (Ask the Passengers by A.S. King)
  • A book from the Rory Gilmore Challenge (Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders by Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry)
  • An award-winning book (The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan)

Thirteen titles total, but only ten made it to my 2016 Reading Challenge, because I don’t count re-reads. Although some were short stories, I am glad that I got to read more this month. I will do my best to keep up the momentum.

bookblogsig

 

This entry was posted in Monthly Wrap-Up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

