April 2016 Book Haul

It’s the end of April now?!? This is definitely my shortest month so far. Anyway, we all know that the last day of every month is usually reserved for wrap-ups, so today, I will be sharing the books I collected this April.

CYMERA_20160430_162520

Some books are small, but this month, I acquired a total of 14 books! I have stories for each batch of books, so enough intro, let’s move on with the books, shall we?

01

(Edit, 01 May – I totally forgot this book!) First day of the month, I finally received this copy of “Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov, the second book I won from Geemiz’s giveaway. Such a relief receiving this, you have no idea.

CYMERA_20160430_165431

Near my sister’s workplace, there usually is a man selling books along the street. One time, she sent me a picture message showing the spread, and I sent back the picture, encircling this book. I only wanted to ask for its price, but I did tell my sister my preferred price range. After an hour or so, she sent me another picture of “By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept” by Paulo Coelho. When she got home, I was ready to pay her when she waved off my hand and told me it’s for free. Yay! Thanks, Didi!

CYMERA_20160430_165457

Through my friends, I learned that a lot of bookworms who ordered “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell received multiple copies, some even receiving about 100! Someone from my country experienced such, and decided to sell the extra copies. It was priced just fine, so might as well buy one.

CYMERA_20160430_165643

Last Thursday, I decided to take a day off and travel to Makati so I could see the pop-up library of The Book Stop Project PH. An in depth story about my experience will be shared tomorrow or on Monday, but I took home these two books, “The Wolf on Wall Street” by Jordan Belfort, and a Filipino poetry book – “The Highest Hiding Place” by L. Lacambra Ypil. I am not into poetry, but this book look so pretty, I couldn’t resist it. Actually, I will be reading this and I will send this over to my bookish sister Eunice, because she loves poetry, and is the first one to come to mind when I saw this book.

CYMERA_20160430_163844

Getting home from that same day, I saw a bookmail from my dear friend Gie, who is always the one buying books from international online book shops. This batch of books are from our December shopping at Barnes & Noble. The site had a price drop on Classics, and these Fall River books – “Classic Works of F.Scott Fitzgerald,” “The Art of War” by Sun Tzu, “The Divine Comedy” by Dante Alighieri, and “Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales” were about $3 each. I am so happy to finally have them… I do like the Fall River books, but for this year, if B&N will have another price drop, I might go for the leatherbound classics.

CYMERA_20160430_171158

Though this batch of books were from the same bookmail, I bought these at a different time – during Book Outlet’s President Sale. Actually, this wasn’t part of a group buy… none of my bookish sisters wanted to buy during the sale, but I sure wanted to buy a copy of “I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson as a birthday present to a dear friend, so I asked Gie if she could buy books for me. To maximize shipping fees, I bought three books for myself – “In Perfect Light” by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, “Out of the Easy” by Ruta Sepetys, and “Best Loved Fairy Tales” by Hans Christian Andersen. Yep, another Fall River book. Yay!

CYMERA_20160430_165553

Last but not the least I received this month was this copy of “Invisibility” by Andrea Cremer and David Levithan. A local bookstore had a sale on hardbound books at 99 pesos (about $2). I wasn’t able to buy one, but it was okay for me, because I needed to limit my book buying. However, when some bookstagrammers shared pictures of this book bought at 199 pesos (about $4), I admit I started feeling jealous towards them ‘coz David Levithan is one of my favorite authors, and though the price was twice than the sale books, it was still cheaper than buying it brand new. I already gave up looking for this book, when Gie said she saw one and asked me if I wanted to buy it. Oh my dear lawrd, of course I want it, and I now have it. One Levithan book off the list.

Nine books added to my 85 Book Limit list – the books given to me, received for free, and those I plan to give away will not be listed. After April, I have now bought 29 books. Still a good track. For how long, I don’t know.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in 2016 Book Inventory, Book Inventory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

