Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (April 2016 Wrap Up)

In 2014, I (not intentionally) experienced reading books within the 24-hour period. Though I wasn’t impressed with the books I have read, I was impressed that I could do such thing. Readathons are great reading boosters. I have always wanted to try the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, and now that I have finally joined it, I can now tick it off my “bookish bucket list,” something that I still have to share here on the blog.

On this post, I shared my TBR. Though I made changes within the readathon period, I was happy that it was a smooth event for me. Days prior to the event, I told my amore mio that I might be quiet for sometime, but I did promise him that I would send messages every now and then. I was so thankful that he was supportive, and in one of the books I read, he gave me little insights about Star Wars, making the reading experience more memorable.

IMG_9859

With my starting time at 8PM, I didn’t feel the need to stock up on some “survival kit” items, as I don’t really eat while reading. Though, I started a little late because my kitchen chores took me a little longer to finish. I think it was already 8:45PM when I started reading my first book.

IMG_9864

My reading timeline:

8:45PM – Started reading my first book, “Aphorisms on Love and Hate” by Friedrich Nietzsche.

9:37PM – Finished with the first book; allowed myself to some distraction.

10:05PM – Started reading my 2nd book, “She’s Dating the Gangster” by Bianca B. Bernardino

12:17AM – Finished with the second book; again, time for some distraction.

12:49AM – Started reading my third book, “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell.

2:25AM – Finished with the third book. Time to sleep.

9:30AM – After eating breakfast and doing some house chores, I started reading my next book, “Boy Meets Boy” by David Levithan

2:30PM – Finished with the book, after an hour break in between reading because of lunch. Immediately started on the next book, “Lullabies” by Lang Leav.

3:30PM – Finished with the fifth book, took the time to message friends and amore mio as he was traveling out of town.

4:11PM – Decided to read “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson, as this was something friends talk about on our Viber group chat.

4:30PM – Started reading my last book, “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith.

8:00PM – Readathon done, I was only able to read up to 146 pages of my current read.

A total of six titles, not bad for this readathon. Though I could feel a little disheartened that my choices were short stories and short books (one being only 9 pages long), I had to remind myself that this readathon wasn’t a contest, that it didn’t matter if I read one million pages or only one thousand, that this readathon was for personal growth and not to test who could read the most. Deep down, I know that just by participating on this event was victory enough for me – that my choices were books I planned to read in the future anyway. Taking all the lessons I have learned from this readathon, for sure my next participation would be much better.

Answering the End of Readathon Survey

1.) Which hour was the most daunting for you? That would be the last two hours of the readathon for me (6PM – 8PM), because I had a lot of distractions – accepting food delivery, posing pictures with mom and sis, and watching (or listening) to the Presidential Debate.

2.) Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I think it is good to have some short books included in anyone’s TBR pile, just to ease the pressure, and to help them still finish a book during the daunting hours.

3.) Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? If there is one suggestion I could raise, it would have to be including Instagram as one of the platforms. Though I own a blog, I am not on Twitter, and even if some participants did post their mini challenges on their Instagram pages, the platform itself wasn’t really recognized (like Twitter).

4.) What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? In some ways, I think it worked well that I don’t have Twitter, or else I would be checking the site every time I flipped a page. It was also helpful that I told people in the house about the readathon because my sister did volunteer to was the dishes after dinner before the event started, allowing me to save some time. Lastly, it worked that I chose short books. I am really a slow reader, that if I chose long books (250 or more pages), I might get stuck reading one book for a long period of time, that would make me feel bad or give up.

5.) How many books did you read? Six and a half.

6.) What were the names of the books you read? “Aphorisms on Love and Hate” by Friedrich Nietzsche (the Penguin Little Black Classics edition), “She’s Dating the Gangster” by Bianca B. Bernardino, “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell, “Boy Meets Boy” by David Levithan, “Lullabies” by Lang Leav, “The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson, and half of “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” by Jennifer E. Smith.

7.) Which book did you enjoy most? That would be “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell. Not only was the book so cute, it also allowed me to “read” it with amore mio because he is a big Star Wars fan, and we did get to chat about Star Wars while I read. the 60+ page book took me some time finishing, but I had no regrets.

8.) Which did you enjoy least? Oh my, it would have to be “She’s Dating the Gangster.” If I didn’t own the book, I would have never picked it up, but since I did buy it for a friend (and she did buy one for her own, awwww), I had to read it before disposing it. The book, though had a few (and a few is quite an overstatement) good points, was bad in many, many ways. Even the ending didn’t save it. At least now I can give it away, throw it, or hmmm…. maybe use the pages as props.

9.) How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely! I will still choose to be reader again, but next readathon, I will definitely try and join the mini challenges.

The next readathon will be on October 22, 2016. If you want to join the fun, mark your calendar this early.

’til the next readathon!

bookblogsig

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (April 2016 Wrap Up)

  1. Whoa, six books is an AMAZING effort – even if they were shorter. That’s still so good!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: April 2016 Reading Wrap-Up | Jayne VS Books

  3. Pingback: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (Oct 2016) | Jayne VS Books

Leave a Reply

