Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (My TBR)

I know I wanted to join this readathon since I first heard of it, but I always forget it, that’s why I was so grateful that one angel hopped on my Instagram page and left a comment. It was through her page (I usually hop back) that I got to know the next schedule for this readathon, allowing me to plan and think what to read.

IMG_9848

I chose to read –

  • “Aphorisms on Love and Hate” by Friedrich Nietzsche
  • “She’s Dating the Gangster” by Bianca B. Bernardino
  • “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell
  • “Boy Meets Boy” by David Levithan
  • “Lullabies” by Lang Leav
  • “Stupid is Forever” by Miriam Defensor – Santiago
  • “Stupid is Forevermore” by Miriam Defensor – Santiago

Explanations…

I know this TBR is not that stellar, considering a lot of people went for big books… but I got to be realistic here. In the last few months, it was already a blessing if I could finish a book in three days, so of course it would be weird to choose books (multiple at that) that I know I couldn’t finish.

I challenged myself to read 100 books this year. So far, at 31 books, I am right on track, but I know I have to read more and be ahead of schedule, and small books are great help for this kind of situation. I don’t know why I need to defend my choices (lol), but these books, no matter how small are books I sure want to read, so why not read them now?

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon is one unique event because every participant start at the same time, so your starting time will be different, depending on your location. Checking the time converter, my starting time is 8PM, which is a very good time to start reading – I could eat my dinner and do kitchen chores early, and I could read without the need to snack ’til maybe until 3am. Sunday is a dull day for us (unless we go out), so I can spend the day locked in my room and just come out when needed.

Anyway, I will start with Nietzsche because I think that’s the most difficult for me to read, and I will follow it with “She’s Dating the Gangster,” because I am scheduled to read a Filipino literature this month. After those two books, I will choose which to read depending on my mood, and I’m going to use the two Defensor – Santiago joke books as fillers, a way to keep things happy in between reads. If I get to read this and still have time to spare, I will just read one of the books I set myself to read for this month.

I don’t have Twitter, and it will eat a lot of time if I will update my reading progress here on my blog, so I will just have a post on my Instagram and will update my hourly progress using the comment section (so my followers won’t be flooded with update posts).

Will my first Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon be a success? I surely hope so. I will be posting a wrap-up on Monday.

bookblogsig

 

This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (My TBR)

  1. Have fun! You picked out some real gems here. I love Miriam’s books to bits, but I preferred the second one more. And if it helps, I practically devoured Lang Leav’s Lullabies in mere hours. *winks* Hope you enjoy the readathon! 🙂

    If you need some cheering, know that I’m here. You can do it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon (April 2016 Wrap Up) | Jayne VS Books

Leave a Reply

