March 2016 Wrap-Up

History is indeed repeating itself. Just like last year, my March reading took a plunge as well, and I was sad about it, because I truly have to read faster if I want to hit my goal of reading 100 books this year.

IMG_9681

For March, I got to read 7 works of literature —

1 – “Mud Vein” by Tarryn Fisher
Date Read – 10 March 2016
Genre – New Adult, Suspense Mystery, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 283
Rating – ★★★

2 – “Let Me Call You Sweetheart” by Mary Higgins Clark
Date Read – 18 March 2016
Genre – Suspense, Mystery Thriller
Format – Mass Market Paperback
Number of Pages – 320
Rating – ★★★★

3 – “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll
Date Read – 18 March 2016
Genre – Children’s Classics, Fantasy
Format – Hardback
Number of Pages – 375
Rating – ★★★

4 – “The Lightning Thief” (Graphic Novel) adapted by Robert Venditti
Date Read – 22 March 2016
Genre – Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Mythology
Format – Paperback
Number of Pages – 128
Rating – ★★★

5 – “A Court of Thorns and Roses” by Sarah J. Maas
Date Read – 24 March 2016
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 432
Rating – ★★★★★

6 – “The Moth & the Flame” by Renee Ahdieh
Date Read – 24 March 2016
Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy, Short Story
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 40
Rating – ★★★

7 – “The Opposite of Loneliness” by Marina Keegan
Date Read – 28 March 2016
Genre – Non Fiction, Short Stories
Format – Paperback
Number of Pages – 256
Rating – ★★★

Just 7, yes…one of which was 40 pages short and the other had lots of illustrations, but I am still happy with my reading, though not fully satisfied, because there were books part of my TBR List that I wasn’t able to read.

Updating the reading challenges and readathons I joined –

#ayearathon – Suspense (07 – 13 March) 〉〉〉 I was able to read two books – “Mud Vein” by Tarryn Fisher and “Let Me Call You Sweetheart” by Mary Higgins Clark. It was unfortunate that I wasn’t able to read “Don’t Look Back” by Jennifer L. Armentrout, but it was just okay, I guess… I can always read it anytime.

#BPMarchMadness (all month long) 〉〉〉 My book club, @BookishPinoys on Instagram, hosted a reading challenge and posted several categories. I was able to tick off 5 from the list – Suspense / Thriller (“Let Me Call You Sweetheart” by Mary Higgins Clark), Retelling (“A Court of Thorns and Roses” by Sarah J. Maas), In Memoriam (“Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll), Something New (“The Opposite of Loneliness” by Marina Keegan), and Graphic Novel (“The Lightning Thief” adapted by Robert Venditti). I was sad that I wasn’t able to finish “The Narrow Road to the Deep North” by Richard Flanagan, which was my book for Historical Fiction category. Of all the categories, I was sure that I wouldn’t read a Graphic Novel because I don’t own one and I don’t have any friends near me who could lend me a copy, but it was fortunate that on my visit to Booksale, they have a graphic novel available, and since I had ample time, I sat down and read it ’til I finished it.

Around the Year in 52 Books 〉〉〉 This month, I was able to read two – A Childhood Classic (“Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll), A Book You’re Embarrassed to Read in Public (“Mud Vein” by Tarryn Fisher). Not a good one as I was aiming for four books, but I since I still haven’t updated my April TBR List, I will just concentrate on reading more from this challenge.

April 2015, I only got to read three books. If history is really repeating itself, I will really try my best to read more than that. Since #ayearathon for April is “Re-Reads,” one week of the month will be devoted to this, so I basically have only three weeks to read new books. I will be aiming for 5 books, but if I read more, then that would be a very sweet victory.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Monthly Wrap-Up, Readathon, Reading Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

