March 2016 Book Haul

Early this month, I met up with my bookish girlfriends and thought I already had a big book haul. Setting up my collective monthly haul, I realized that it wasn’t as big as I feared it to be.

IMG_9672

At 15 books, this has to be biggest book haul I had for the year, but it is still a pretty decent amount, I think… especially that some of these were given as gifts and giveaway prize and that the others were bought at a slightly cheaper price compared to brand new prices.

Breaking this haul —

IMG_9693

First one for the month was this big haul of books from Book Outlet. These were the books I ordered during their Boxing Day sale, and if you want to know more, please read the full details HERE.

IMG_9680

The same day I picked my Book Outlet books, my dear friend Cath gave me these two books – “How to Kill a Rock Star” by Tiffanie DeBartolo and “Sense and Sensibility” by Jane Austen. Both books were surprise gifts, as I wasn’t sure if she already read the DeBartolo book, but after I bought another book from the same author (God-Shaped Hole), she just told me she will give this book to me. As for the Austen book, I wanted to collect this edition of Austen books, but I planned to buy them at the MIBF this September. Again, I was surprised by her gesture… we were just chatting then she said she will give this to me. One done, five more to go. Thank you so much, Catherine!

IMG_9677

Another book I received that same day was this copy of Sophocles’ “Antigone,” which was given to me by another dear friend of mine – Gie. Thank you madam!

IMG_9685

Mid-month, I got to receive this copy of “The Steel Seraglio” by Mike Carey, Linda Carey, and Louise Carey – one of the best books I’ve read last year. I won a giveaway last February and I chose this as my prize. I was so happy and thankful to finally have this in my collection.

IMG_9678

Last haul were these books I bought from Booksale. Lately, I wasn’t really into book shopping because of my 85-book limit and that I have a number of books ordered from Book Outlet… but, I decided to browse their selection, saw these at reasonable prices, and decided to buy them. There was no question, “Brain on Fire” by Susannah Cahalan was on my wish list, and seeing this at only 35 pesos… of course I had to buy it! There was a crack on its spine, but it didn’t matter anymore. “How to Make an American Quilt” by Whitney Otto was something I bought because of its price (35 pesos as well). I knew I wanted to watch the movie but didn’t get to, so might as well read the book first.

Actually, this haul was one book short. I did buy a poetry book with Cath and Eunice, but I forgot to get my copy from Cath, so I decided I would just include it in next month’s haul.

11 books added on my 85 book limit…at this point I could already feel the pressure. But I will try my best to accomplish this goal.

How many books would I acquire next month? Let’s see!

bookblogsig

 

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Book Inventory, Book Inventory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

