Book Talk | The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

This is the second book in a duology, if you haven’t read the first book (The Assassin’s Curse) yet, there might be some spoilers on this post, so I highly suggest you read the first book yet, before continuing with this. If you still choose to go on reading what I have to say, though, you have my sincerest gratitude.

pirateswish

bookdetails

  • “The Pirate’s Wish” by Cassandra Rose Clarke
  • ISBN: 1908844280 / ISBN13: 9781908844286
  • Number of Pages: 330
  • Publisher: Strange Chemistry
  • Publication Date: 18 June 2013
  • Format / Source: Paperback, own copy – bought at Fishpond
  • Rating: ★★★

synopsis

After setting out to break the curse that binds them together, the pirate Ananna and the assassin Naji find themselves stranded on an enchanted island in the north with nothing but a sword, their wits, and the secret to breaking the curse: complete three impossible tasks. With the help of their friend Marjani and a rather unusual ally, Ananna and Naji make their way south again, seeking what seems to be beyond their reach.

Unfortunately, Naji has enemies from the shadowy world known as the Mists, and Ananna must still face the repercussions of going up against the Pirate Confederation. Together, Naji and Ananna must break the curse, escape their enemies — and come to terms with their growing romantic attraction.

mythoughts

Oh never mind the curse. You can’t let that dictate your life.

Finishing “The Assassin’s Curse” with a handful of unanswered questions and a dark cloud of mystery, looking at my copy of this book made me a little doubtful if a book of this size would be able to fulfill all the things I expect it to fulfill. Indeed, what a great follow up to the first book! This book was such an adventure! Definitely better than the first book in terms of action, discovering places, and magic. It made me gush, swoon, and cheer…but at the same time it also made me understand certain things about relationships (may it be with family, friends, people you work with, and to whom you share your heart with).

In this book, I got to meet a new set of characters that helped shaped the story. Ongraygeeomryn (the Manticore) is such a sweetheart – she made my eyebrow rise, but she is such a fun character I am sure you will love should you read this book. Marjani, I got to meet in the first book, but it was here where her character developed. As much as this book was Ananna and Naji’s story, Marjani also had her own side story, and a good one, too. The other supporting characters also added colors to the story, but I want to comment on Jeric’s character. He was a mystery for most part of the book – very douchey, but his character surprised me really.

Ananna remained strong all throughout. Sure, she had her share of insecure moments, but as annoying as it seemed, for me it made her a very believable character, and true to her age, as I think all of us went through a phase like hers. It made her a well rounded character – strong, ambitious, matured for her age, but has insecurities and self doubt. Naji. Hmmm…. he definitely had the biggest character growth of all. The entirety of his back story remained undisclosed, but whatever the author shared, I got to understood him more in this book, and yes, with blush on my face, I’d say he was such a swoon-worthy character.

The world-building was more beautiful in this book than the first one as there were more places explored. Each place were well developed and vividly described that it made me feel as if I was there, too.

The story revolved around Naji’s curse, and even if one of the tasks was easier to do, it was the third task that truly surprised me. Reading the book I was thinking how it will be fulfilled, and wow, not only was I surprised, I was touched as well. Truly, the ends don’t justify the means.

Up until now, the duology remains to be underhyped. I don’t know why this wasn’t well received, but I am still hoping people will give this a try. Of course it wasn’t really perfect, but it was soooo good that I was grateful I gave this a chance. If you like a fast paced, easy to read book, this duology is for you. Best of all… no love triangle! It ended in an unconventional way, but despite the sad tone, it ended happy, too, or the other way around however you want to see it. For me it was the happy kind of sad, but it was one of the book’s strength – it was matured, and a good inspiration to its readers. I consider this and the other book gems in my library.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in 2016 Book List, Book Talk, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

