NY Times “By the Book” Tag

Happy Sunday, everyone! The summer heat is melting me, and I feel so sleepy, but I don’t want to sleep, so I will just do the New York Times “By the Book” Tag, which Eunice tagged me to do.

1. What book is on your night stand now?  〉〉〉 I currently have two – “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll and “Let Me Call You Sweetheart” by Mary Higgins Clark. These are my last two read books, and because  it is a habit of mine to jot down my favorite quotes after I finish the book, I still have them on the night stand, or the vanity table while I still haven’t done scribbling the quotes yet.

2. What was the last truly great book you read?   〉〉〉 That would be “Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent. Not only was the story compelling and wonderfully crafted, it was well researched, too, and I was just in awe at how much time Ms. Kent invested in making this story come to life.

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?   〉〉〉 This is a difficult question to answer, but I would go with one of my favorite authors – David Levithan. I would like to know his process in writing and just how he observes people, because in every book of his that I read, all had very interesting look at different people. Some of those character I don’t agree with, but still… I just love how he was able to come up with a wide array of characters.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves? 〉〉〉 I place these books where people won’t see it right away, but for someone who is as big as I am, I have a few diet / fitness / weight loss books in my collection. In my defense, I did get to use them, it’s just that, I am a lazy person when it comes to exercising and because my family isn’t really into healthy food as far as meal planning is concerned (as we are pretty much an eat and go type of people – we don’t plan meals), I wasn’t really able to fully lose the weight that I needed to lose and the little weight I lost, I gained all back, unfortunately.

IMG_9251

5. How do you organize your personal library. 〉〉〉 I arrange my books based on their height. I have always dreamed of having a book case as big as this, but once our trusted contractor finally came here, I was caught off guard and had to come up with a design right away. That time, I liked the idea of maximizing the space by having shelves devoted to tall hardbacks, and trade paperbacks, and mass market paperbacks, but what I didn’t get to realize was that by doing so… it would mean books by particular authors as well as books in the same series be separated from each other, because not all books can fit into the shelves.

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read? 〉〉〉 The Harry Potter series. When I knew I wanted to read books after books after books, the Harry Potter series was the first series I wanted to own, but despite completing all original Bloomsbury edition in August 2013, I still haven’t read them…even until now. Maybe I will marathon the whole series come December of this year.

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing? 〉〉〉 The last book I put down without finishing was “The Heart of Betrayal” by Mary E. Pearson…but that is NOT because I didn’t like it. I just couldn’t connect to it because I sort of forgotten little details about the first book (The Kiss of Deception) and the time gap between reading the first book and this made me lost the emotions I had back when I finished the first book. As for the first question, one book I thought I would like but didn’t was “The Sky Was Everywhere” by Jandy Nelson. I really thought I would like it because of the raves I got to read and hear, but when I read it, I just didn’t like it at all.

8. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of? 〉〉〉 I am drawn into WW2 stories, but not every WW2 story is something I want to read, of course. I also like historical fiction and psychological thrillers. On the flipside, horror is one genre I stay away from because I have a very wild imagination, though I really like suspense / thriller books. It’s just that, straight up horror is not my cup of tea, but I will try to read at least one in my lifetime…I just don’t know when.

9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be? 〉〉〉 “Behind the Beautiful Forevers” by Katherine Boo. It’s a book about how life was in India’s poor sector, and though each country is different, the story in this book is something that is a reality here in the Philippines as well.

10. What do you plan to read next? 〉〉〉 I am currently reading “A Court of Thorns and Roses,” but after I am done with this, I will be reading “Love in the Time of Cholera” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, or “My Heart and Other Black Holes” by Jasmine Warga.

Thanks for the tag, Eunice! I had fun answering this. :*

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Book Tags. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

