When the Titas Meet + My Book Outlet Boxing Day Haul

After we received our first order from Book Outlet, we decided that when Gie receives our next international book shopping, we would meet up and pick our books up instead of having Gie shipped it to us. Since this book haul was bigger than my first order, I thought it would save me a few bucks by picking it up personally…and it would also be a great way to meet up with my awesome friends.

a0a4fc2d1eb9981536598fc0f93ae334b39b9c61c35154b726c4efaf0708682e

I don’t know how the term “tita” came to be, but we have been calling each other tita (or auntie) whenever we talk to each other. Anyway, I first met up with Eunice and Cath at Fullybooked Taft, then we ate lunch at Bagnet 80605 before meeting up with Gie to get our books.

stackingtheshelves

CYMERA_20160311_143244

For Book Outlet Boxing Day Sale, they didn’t discount the books, but they gave shoppers discount based on the total amount they spent. I forgot the breakdown of discounts, but if you spend $100 worth of books, you will get $45 discount, and that is what we (Eunice, Gie and I) aimed for.

2016-03-12 11.57.15 1

CYMERA_20160312_121324

I got myself nine books –

  1. You by Caroline Kepnes (hardback, $5.99) 〉〉〉 I wanted to read this as soon as I saw it on booktube, and when I saw that the paperback copy at a local book store cost more than 10 dollars, I knew I just had to get this one at Book Outlet.
  2. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (hardback, $5.99) 〉〉〉 Another expensive book if bought brand new at a local book store. I already read this book on eBook format, but I fell in love with Cormoran and Robin that I want to read the whole series and own the books if I can.
  3. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (hardback, $6.99) 〉〉〉 Same as above, I also have read this, but I wanted own the physical copy.
  4. Reality Boy by A.S. King (hardback, $2.99)
  5. Ask the Passengers by A.S. King (hardback, $3.99)
  6. Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King (paperback, $1.99) 〉〉〉 I still haven’t read any A.S. King books, but whenever a booktuber mentions this on their videos, there’s this urge to read her books, too. I wasn’t able to buy her other book available – Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future – but if I liked her writing, I will definitely buy it as well.
  7. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick (hardback, $3.49) 〉〉〉 I read this book (on eBook format) last year and loved it, so of course I want to own the physical copy.
  8. Boy 21 by Matthew Quick (paperback, $2.99) 〉〉〉 I first saw this book when I went to the Scholastic Warehouse Sale (December 2014). The cover didn’t impress me, and for a moment I wondered if I would get this or not… but good reviews on GoodReads made me decide to get it.
  9. Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick (paperback, $2.49) 〉〉〉 The hardback copy of this was priced good, too, but I decided to go for the paperback because the price difference was a little big.

My total haul amounted to $36.91 (books only). I accidentally deleted all of images Gie forwarded to us as well as the screen shot of the amount I had to pay, so I cannot give a proper breakdown of expenses, but based on scribbles I had on my notebook, my share for the Book Outlet shipping fee was $5.67, and because our group order exceeded $100, my share for the discount was $15, so my total amount to pay was $26.78, not including the shipping fee from the LBC Shipping Cart address to Gie’s address here in the Philippines. If the exchange rate is 49 pesos to 1 dollar, this book haul (not including the last shipping fee) was 1,392 pesos. Not bad for 9 books, which averages 155 pesos per book, or maybe a little over than that if I include the last LBC shipping fee.

I am very happy with this book haul because I was able to buy books I want to own, and I was able to buy books I wanted to read at affordable prices. None of this would come to life if not for Gie, so I am really grateful that we were able to take part of this sale because of her. Big thanks, madam! :*

And of course, best part of this book haul was being able to spend time with friends. We do talk to each other on Viber every day, but even if we talk online about a lot of things, it was more special talking and laughing with each other in real life.

bookblogsig

 

 

This entry was posted in Book Inventory, Stories Beyond the Library, The Reading Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When the Titas Meet + My Book Outlet Boxing Day Haul

  1. Awesome haul of books. I hope you love all your new acquistions.

    Grace @ Books of Love

    Like

  2. I have not heard of Book Outlet – I am going to have to pop over and check it out . Great haul. Hope you enjoy.
    Bambi’s StS

    Like

  3. Pingback: March 2016 Book Haul | Jayne VS Books

Leave a Reply

