#WomenRunTheWorldReadathon Recap

Hello, fellow bookworms!

Today is the International Women’s Month, so what better way to celebrate it than by sharing to you books that empower women.

Last month, Eunice (of nerdytalksbookblog) started a readathon which aims readers to pick up feminist theme books, or any book that has a strong female lead, or basically any book that empowers women. I am a woman, but I don’t really consider myself a feminist. Don’t get me wrong, I do want equality between genders (and preferred sexual orientations), but I also believe that there is no stronger sex, and that all of us need other people – power is not based on one’s gender. That being said, feminism is not a book genre I consciously go for, though I admire books with female characters who don’t let herself be stepped on.

For this readathon, I read seven books –

IMG_8899

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros 〉〉〉 A book about life and people living in Mango Street, as seen by its main character – Esperanza. Written in vignettes, it was a very fast read as holds a lot of power in its very short chapters.

The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin 〉〉〉 I picked this book up because years ago I have watched the movie starring Nicole Kidman and thought this would fit the readathon. Part of it felt it did, but the ending somehow ruined the experience for me.

Bata, Bata… Pa’no Ka Ginawa? by Lualhati Bautista 〉〉〉 My memory of this book from college were all raves from my classmates cheering its main character – Leah Bustamante – on. Partly, I did love her character from back then, but re-reading the book, my views changed tremendously. In some ways, I felt this was a crooked way of representing the feminists, but I did understand the overall objective of the book.

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf 〉〉〉 Now, this is a good feminist read. It encourages women to step forward and find their voice, but at the same time reminding them that females do need to live peacefully with men and other women. Though it was written nearly a hundred years ago, the lessons still rings true up to this date.

Push by Sapphire 〉〉〉 A short, yet difficult book to read, this is about an illiterate teenage girl who experiences abuse in her own home. This drained my energy, but even if the whole jist of the book wasn’t new, I just love how the book wrapped up.

A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen 〉〉〉 A very surprising read! Just when I was about to question how this became a feminist read, the story took a turn and answered me.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle 〉〉〉 Such a fun adventure to wrap my readathon! I may be old, but reading a middle grade book was a very great change of atmosphere.

blogdivider

If you want to pick up a feminist read to celebrate International Women’s Day, you may check any of the books I shared. Although not all were stellar reads, we do have different reading experiences, and in the end, it would be awesome to discuss the good and bad sides of the books, including our own personal views. Don’t be disheartened to read something I (or other bookworms) have a negative review on, because only you can say if you enjoyed the book or not. Come to think of it, it would be interesting if people of opposing sides would discuss a particular book because everybody would have a full view of all sides.

Closing this post, I want to share some books with strong female lead characters –

  1. The Hunger Games (series) by Suzanne Collins
  2. The Steel Seraglio by Mike Carey, Linda Carey, and Louise Carey
  3. Divergent (series) by Veronica Roth
  4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  5. The Assassin’s Curse (duology) by Cassandra Rose Clarke
  6. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  7. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  8. Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
  9. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  10. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
  11. The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre
  12. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
  13. Legend (trilogy) by Marie Lu
  14. The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg
  15. The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson

If you have read books with strong female characters, please do share on the comments section. Despite my high TBR pile, I am a bookworm who is open to book recommendations.

bookblogsig

 

This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

