Friday Finds & Book Blogger Hop 04 Mar 16

Is it really Friday already? This week flew by so quickly I am now starting to feel a little pressured as far as my reading is concerned because I honestly didn’t read since the start of the month. Hopefully I can finish my current read this weekend as a new #ayearathon will take place on Monday.

FridayFinds-ADailyRhythm2-300x200

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm, where book bloggers share the books they found for the week that piqued their interest – be it from other book bloggers, booktubers, bookstagrammers, library, etcetera, etcetera.

This week, I wasn’t able to hop on different blogs and Instagram pages, so only three finds so far –

friday

“Ketchup Clouds” by Annabel Pitcher – This made the list because of its weird, unconventional, and slightly creepy concept: a young lady corresponding with a death row inmate. What made it creepy and unconventional was that she, too, has killed someone.

“The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet” by Becky Chambers – I am not into sci-fi books, though I felt this was easier for me to read than high fantasy books. I first saw this on Instagram and thought it had a very beautiful cover, and reading some reviews on GoodReads made me want to read it more because some said this was a good introduction to sci-fi novels.

“Honesty” by Seth King – I haven’t read any of his books yet, even if I listed his book “The Summer Remains” as a TBR book for one readathon I joined last year. Though I am not familiar with his writing style, his subjects are truly something that interest me. This is his latest release and is about male-male relationship, something I have already read in the past, but those I have read were all in YA genre, so I truly wanted to read something that is suited for older or more mature audience.

blogdivider

book blogger hop

This week, I am joining a new meme – Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Years ago, when I first ventured into book blogging, one of my favorite memes was “Booking Through Thursday,” but it wasn’t updated regularly. I wanted to do discussion posts, but I am having a hard time thinking of topics, so I was glad to see this meme.

This week’s topic – Do you tend to read more in the winter or in the summer months?

〉〉〉 There is no winter here in the Philippines, so I will just replace it with Christmas season (December to January). Since I don’t go to school anymore, summer months are like any month for me, therefore my reading pace is pretty much the same as other months in the year, as we don’t really go on a holiday or vacation for more than a week. Same goes during the Christmas season, really… the only difference is that I feel lazier to read especially during the last half of December because of Christmas and New Year, that I feel I just wanted to lie around and enjoy the cool weather. A good reading booster would have to be the New Year’s Resolutions at the start of the year, but I see January as an adjustment month for me. To sum this up, though the amount of books I read during summer and “winter” may be the same, the experience sure had a huge difference.

If you hopped here from these two memes, please leave the links to your posts on the comment box below so I can hop back. Thank you, and see you again next week!

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Book Blogger Hop, Friday Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Finds & Book Blogger Hop 04 Mar 16

  1. Katherine P says:

    Ketchup Clouds looks interesting and definitely unique! We have winter here in the Southern US but not the snow that people farther North has. During the summer the days are longer and the kids are out of school so I probably do read more in the winter but it probably isn’t an enormous difference.

    Like

  2. I seem to just read all the time. 🙂

    I wasn’t able to narrow it down. I see you have read 22 books already….very nice.

    ENJOY your weekend and the heat in the Philippines. It is very cold here.

    Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

    Like

  3. sportochick says:

    I agree about the holiday times being busy. That is more impactful to my reading then summer or winter.
    Sportochick’s Musings Answer

    Like

  4. Maria Behar says:

    “The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet” sure looks good! I’ve read some very positive reviews of it on Goodreads, so I’ve added it to my TBR. I LOVE science fiction, so think I’ll enjoy this one!

    As for seasonal reading, here in South Florida (USA), we don’t really have seasons, either. Yesterday (it’s now 1:00 AM on Saturday morning), the temperature was at 80 (Fahrenheit)!! And this is MARCH, not June or July! So we get only a few days of cold weather here….

    As you know from my own answer to the question, I have to be comfortable in order to be able to concentrate on a book. So, if it’s hot outside, I NEED to have the AC on.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my BBH post!! (My blog is A NIGHT’S DREAM OF BOOKS.) Hope you have a GREAT weekend!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Literary Feline says:

    The seasons aren’t very pronounced where I live either. I don’t see a lot of change in my reading based on the seasons either. Sometimes I’m busier than other times, but it’s usually more to do with what’s going on in my life at any given time.

    I hope you have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

