February 2016 Wrap-Up

I don’t know what’s it about February, but even if this month is the shortest of all, this is when I get to read more than the usual. Last year, I got to read 12, and this year, I got to hit that magic number again.

IMG_8785

This picture only has 11, I know. One of the books I have read this month I actually gave away as my book for Bookish Pinoys’s BP Blind Date, and I couldn’t do a photoshoot because I sent the book mid-month.

I will do separate posts for each of the book reviews, so I won’t talk about even just a shortened version of how my reading experience was. Presenting the books in order that I read them –

IMG_8801

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
Date Read –  04 February 2016
Genre – Adult Contemporary Fiction, Historical Fiction
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 326
Rating – ★★★

IMG_8796

 

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
Date Read –  05 February 2016
Genre – Young Adult Fiction, Coming of Age, Vignettes
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 110
Rating – ★★★

IMG_8795

The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin
Date Read –  09 February 2016
Genre – Horror, Science Fiction, Mystery, Satire
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 144
Rating – ★★

IMG_8800

November 9 by Colleen Hoover
Date Read –  10 February 2016
Genre – New Adult Contemporary Romance
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 310
Rating – ★★★

IMG_8798

God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo
Date Read –  13 February 2016
Genre – Adult Contemporary Romance
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 329
Rating – ★★★

IMG_8628

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
Date Read –  15 February 2016
Genre – New Adult Contemporary Romance
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 416
Rating – 

IMG_8792

Bata, Bata… Pa’no Ka Ginawa by Lualhati Bautista
Date Read –  17 February 2016
Genre – Philippine Literature, Historical Fiction
Format – Mass Market Paperback
Number of Pages – 239
Rating – ★★★

IMG_8791

Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav
Date Read –  18 February 2016
Genre – Poetry, Romance
Format – eBook
Number of Pages – 178
Rating – ★★★

IMG_8804

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf
Date Read –  22 February 2016
Genre – Essays, Lectures
Format – Hardback (anthology)
Number of Pages – 99
Rating – ★★★★★

IMG_8797

Push by Sapphire
Date Read –  24 February 2016
Genre – Young Adult Contemporary, Sociology
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 177
Rating – ★★★★★

IMG_8794

A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen
Date Read –  26 February 2016
Genre – Classics, Plays
Format – Mass Market Paperback
Number of Pages – 76
Rating – ★★★★

IMG_8793

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
Date Read –  29 February 2016
Genre – Middle Grade, Science Fiction, Fantasy
Format – Trade Paperback
Number of Pages – 177
Rating – ★★★★

blogdivider

This month, I joined readathons left and right, recapping those I joined:

#ayearathon – New Adult / Romance (08 – 14 February 2016) – In January, I didn’t do so well with the readathon, so I told myself I will make it up this month. Thankfully, this month’s topic was fairly easy for me as I do love reading Contemporary novels and has managed to read all three books I set myself to read – God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo, Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, and November 9 by Colleen Hoover.

Kiligathon (13 – 20 February 2016) – My dear friend Elena had a week-long readathon initially for “single” ladies who might as well read than “wallow” about not having Valentine’s dates. Anyway, there were five prompts for this readathon – LGBTQ+, a red book, sexy cover, forbidden love, and a book with “love” in the title – and I also got to read three: Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav (a book with “love” in the title), Bata, Bata…Pa’no Ka Ginawa? by Lualhati Bautista (forbidden love), and God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo (a red book).

Women Run the World Readathon (all month long) – A readathon hosted by another dear friend of mine (Eunice), this is for books about feminism or those that empowers women. I did have a grand time reading books for this readathon because I was able to read seven books: The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin, Bata, Bata…Pa’no Ka Ginawa by Lualhati Bautista, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen, Push by Sapphire, and A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf.

Updating my Around the year in 52 Books reading challenge

  • The highest rated on your TBR – November 9 by Colleen Hoover
  • A book about a major world event (fiction or non-fiction) – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, a book related to the 9/11 Terrorist Attacks.
  • A top 100 fantasy novel – A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
  • A book with a type of food/drink in the title – The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Although my reading this year revolved around two main topics – Romance and Feminism, I could say this was the most diverse reading I have ever had in my life so far. Genre-wise, I was able to read a middle-grade book, young adult book, and adult book, and a mix of classic, contemporary and fantasy reads… author-wise I was able to read works by American writers, a Filipino writer, a Norwegian playwright, a British writer, a poet with Asian roots, and an American writer with Mexican roots. Not only that, I got to read full novels, as well as novellas, poetry, theatrical play, and a series of essays and lectures. Although more than half of my reads were less than 200 pages long, I could say I am very, very satisfied.

I still don’t have a list of books to read this March, but I really do hope it will be as satisfying and as rewarding as February’s.

bookblogsig

 

This entry was posted in Monthly Wrap-Up, Readathon, Reading Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Shealea Iral says:

    The photos are so cute! Excellent wrap up post. Happy reading. 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

