Book Tag | 25 Bookish Facts About Me

Last week, I thought of creating a schedule for this blog (a way to make me blog more) and decided to make weekends a time to blog about book tags, whether I am tagged or not. Surprisingly, my dear friend Eunice (of NerdyTalksBookBlog) tagged me to do the 25 Bookish Facts About Me, a very good way to start the scheduled book tags for this blog. This is going to be a long one, so let’s get on with the list…

IMG_8698

1) I started reading “full time” in April 2013. Before that time, it would be considered a miracle if I could read two books in a year. The books that opened the gates for me? The “Fifty Shades” series.

2) I am open to read any kind of book, but my top 3 genres are: Historical Fiction (especially those set during WW2), Psychological Thriller, and Adult Contemporary.

3) 2015 is a big turnaround year for me as far as reading is concerned. This is when I realized I should not hoard as much books just because they are dirt cheap; a time when I realized I am slowly distancing myself from YA Contemporary fiction; and a time when I realized I was unfair to my physical books because I was reading too much eBooks.

4) Biggest blessing for me would be meeting my bookish girlfriends – Eunice, Rexy, Niña, Gie, Krish, Cath and Elena, who are now real-life friends, too. We do have different preferences in books, but we jive well, and we inspire & help each other with our reading as well as with our personal lives. This friendship formed a little book club on Instagram (@bookishpinoys), and I am happy to say that the book club is already more than a year old, and is still very much active in the bookstagram community.

5) In 2014, my mom helped me financially build my own book case. It was a dream of mine to have a floor-to-ceiling case, but the one who made it said it would be a big waste of money to buy another full size ply-board if he would only use half of it. I did have regrets about how I planned the look of it, but of course I was very happy with the final outcome.

6) The very first book signing event I attended was the one for Mitch Albom, March 2014. It was a test of endurance, but I was grateful that the author stayed ’til past midnight to sign all the books.

7) The most number of books I read in one month is 12. I will try to break that this year, but I am having doubts if I can.

8) I love it when a book makes me cry. That alone wouldn’t make me give it a high rating, but, I do love it when an author was able to touch my emotions. A sure fire way to make me cry? Family interactions, no matter how simple it is.

9) The Harry Potter books (the original Bloomsbury edition) are among the first books I bought…but I still haven’t read it. Boo!

10) I have a love and hate relationship with “road trip” kind of books.

11) I keep a journal of my favorite quotes from books I read.

12) The beginning part of the book is always the most difficult part for me to read. At times, I would read the first chapter, put the book down, read the second chapter, and put the book down again. There are times I would leave a book unread for a full day, but when I realize I still haven’t made progress in three days, that’s the time I would sit down and read it ’til I finish it. Of course, there would be times that I would read a book from start to finish in one sitting.

pintoartmuseum

13) I am a librocubicularist. If I have to, I could read anywhere, but I am the most confident reading in my room, on my bed. (The picture above is not my bed, though. That’s taken at Pinto Art Museum in Antipolo)

14) In the last three years, I have been a big eBook reader. If I could list all the books I read, more than half of it were in eBook format, but even if I do initially read a novel in eBook, if I loved it a lot, I would try my best to buy the physical copy.

15) I do have difficulty reading Fantasy and Sci-Fi books, but Poetry is the hardest for me to read.

16) Since I started my reading life, I have been reading mostly novels… but years before, my choice of reading was self-help books.

17) Even if I fall in love with fictional characters, I usually ship characters together, and love them as a couple, not as “someone for me.” But…if there is one character I could consider as my book boyfriend, it would be Christian Grey (minus the crazy things he do inside the Red Room, that is. I don’t think I can take it.)

18) Booksale is my favorite book store. There is nothing compared to the thrill of buying books at a cheaper price.

19) I love creating (and receiving) bookmarks, but I do use whatever items near me as a bookmark – receipt, brochure, tissue…even the remote control.

20) I personally don’t like book covers with faces / glamour shots (like those in Richelle Mead’s books), but I still buy it if the price is right.

21) Despite the book and food pictures I post on my Instagram page, I don’t really eat nor drink while reading. I would usually finish my food first before I immerse myself in reading.

22) My reading time is at 9pm to 2am, but if the book was compelling enough, I would stay up ’til 3 or 4 am…or I would gladly give up sleep entirely.

23) Once upon a time I could read two books at “the same time” (reading one during daytime, and a different one during nighttime), but I don’t know why… I just couldn’t do it anymore.

24) My favorite authors are mostly males, but I have read / am reading more books written by female authors.

25) It irritates me when people look down on bookworms – “What a boring hobby, don’t you have a life?” or when bookworms look down on fellow bookworms – “What?!? You read only ___ books?!?” People who don’t really read are easier to understand in my opinion, because they don’t know what they are missing, but it is more irritating to know that bookworms look down on fellow bookworms. So what if the person only reads one genre? Reading is supposed to be something to entertain and relax us, we all should just read what we want to read without worries. Though of course, I am all in when it comes to diversity – as a reader, I also would want fellow bibliophiles to try something new, but if someone truly feels home reading just one specific genre, who are we to judge the person? Copying what Eunice wrote on her blog, “Read and let read.” Let’s all be happy with our choice of reading, as it is one of the most rewarding hobbies there is.

If you want to do the tag, feel free to do it on your blog, and comment the link here, I would love to read it.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Book Tags, The Reading Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Tag | 25 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. Priscilla says:

    I love reading psychological thriller, too! Probably a little too much. I think it says something disturbing about me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would love to have a floor-to-ceiling bookcase. It’d be awesome to dedicate a wall just for my books.

    I’m also a massive ebook reader, as it’s more easy to tote around than physical copies. I do love buying physical copies of books, but ebooks are much, much cheaper.

    There are too many points that I’d like to comment on, so I guess I’ll just make my own post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

