My First Book Outlet Order

stackingtheshelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, which aims to showcase the newest additions to our book shelves. I could’ve added this to my collective monthly book haul, but I want to write a separate post for this because as the title suggests, this is my very first Book Outlet order.

blackfriday

This was a very special book haul because Book Outlet doesn’t directly ship to the Philippines. Ever since my friends and I discovered the website, we have been a little bitter about it – not being able to buy cheap books, simply because our country wasn’t part of their coverage area. Fortunately, one of my dear friends (Gie) was able to find a way to buy books from Book Outlet and have it delivered here in the Philippines, via the LBC Shipping Cart service. She tried it once and was successful, so when the Book Outlet Black Friday Sale came,  us friends went on a group buy.

30% off sitewide was a deal too difficult to pass, and at first I had a long list of books I wanted buy. However, despite the big sale, I also had to consider the shipping costs, so I decided to choose just five books.

IMG_8571

The books were ordered in November, but it was just this week that I received the books because of many little different reasons, all of which were very fine with me, because the waiting adds to the anticipation, and I have full trust that LBC will deliver our big box full of books to Gie’s address. The day after Gie received the box, she had the books sent out to us, and coming home to this box totally made my day, my week even!

IMG_8564 IMG_8569

Here are the five books I’ve chosen.

  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo (from $7.99 to $5.60) – I have known this book since I was 10 years old, having to be a part of a group performing “Do You Hear the People Sing?” at a school event. Having to watch the last movie adaptation (starring Anne Hathaway, Hugh Jackman, and Russell Crowe to name a few), I fell more in love with the story, and I know for sure I would want to have a copy of it in my collection. It is truly not every day that one could see an unabridged copy of the book with that price, so even if I know I may not read this book (because of its size), having this book in my collection was reason enough to be happy.
  • Tales from the Arabian Nights by Sir Richard Francis Burton (from $4.99 to $3.50) – My friends have bought this book months before I did. At that time, I had no intentions of buying this book because it wasn’t something that interest me (I am not a big fantasy reader). However, after finishing “The Wrath and the Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh, I was drawn into the story and would want to read the original book.
  • My True Love Gave to Me (from $3.99 to $2.80)  – Since its release, I have always wanted to do what other bookstagrammers and book bloggers do – read a story one day for 12 days, a la “Twelve days of Christmas.” The problem was, the book was expensive for me if I had to buy it at the local book store. I would’ve waited for the paperback copy, but seeing this on Book Outlet made me list it.
  • Naomi & Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan (from $2.49 to $1.75)- David Levithan is one of my favorite authors, and his name was the very first one I searched on Book Outlet. He had a few books available for sale, but his book “Invisibility” (written with Andrea Creamer) was too expensive for me, and the others I already had a copy of, so this was the only one I chose.
  • Lost & Found by Brooke Davis (from $4.99 to $3.50) – This book was one of my Top 10 Books for 2015. I first read it as an eBook, and a book that completely surprised me. It wasn’t an awesome, awesome book, but I loved it so much. Funny thing was, I didn’t really search for this book on Book Outlet, I was just clicking page after page, hoping to find an interesting book I would want to buy, and I saw this. Hooray!

This was a group buy, so the shipping fee from Book Outlet to the LBC address in the United States, as well as the shipping fee from LBC US to Gie’s address here in the Philippines were equally divided amongst us friends. I paid 1,160 pesos for the books and the shipping fees, and I paid another 285 pesos for the shipment from Gie’s address to my address. A total of 1,445 pesos for this whole book haul (or US$29)… totally not bad at all, considering the classic books is about 1,000 pesos each at a local book store. That alone, I knew I saved a whole lot of money, so I don’t feel any guilt spending that amount for books.

We still have upcoming book hauls – a Book Outlet Boxing Day Sale haul, and a Barnes & Noble classics haul, both of which are already in transit. Once I receive the books, of course I will go share it here.

I am deeply grateful to my friend Gie for accommodating our orders. If not for her, I could never own these books in awesome cheap prices. Thank you so much, Gie!

Did you buy any books during the Book Outlet Black Friday Sale?

bookblogsig

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Book Inventory, Book Inventory. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Book Outlet Order

  1. Pingback: February 2016 Book Haul | Jayne VS Books

  2. Pingback: When the Titas Meet + My Book Outlet Boxing Day Haul | Jayne VS Books

Leave a Reply

