Book Talk | The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

IMG_20160103_103938

bookdetails

  • “The Time Keeper” by Mitch Albom
  • ISBN: 1401322786 / ISBN13: 9781401322786
  • Number of Pages: 224
  • Publisher: Hatchet Books
  • Publication Date: 04 September 2012
  • Source: Own copy, bought at an Instagram based shop
  • Date Read: 03 January 2016
  • Rating: 4 Stars

synopsis

In this fable, the first man on earth to count the hours becomes Father Time.

The inventor of the world’s first clock is punished for trying to measure God’s greatest gift. He is banished to a cave for centuries and forced to listen to the voices of all who come after him seeking more days, more years. Eventually, with his soul nearly broken, Father Time is granted his freedom, along with a magical hourglass and a mission: a chance to redeem himself by teaching two earthly people the true meaning of time.

He returns to our world – now dominated by the hour-counting he so innocently began – and commences a journey with two unlikely partners: one a teenage girl who is about to give up on life, the other a wealthy old businessman who wants to live forever. To save himself, he must save them both. And stop the world to do so.

mythoughts

With endless time, nothing is special. With no loss or sacrifice, we can’t appreciate what we have.

In 2015, I started my year by reading a Mitch Albom book, and because he is one of my favorite authors, I decided to start my reading year with another one of his books. Even with the title alone and the nature of Mitch Albom’s writing, I already had an idea what to expect, and I thought it would be a timely read. I was right.

What you need to know about this book was already written on the blurb, unfortunately. There weren’t much going on between these three key characters, though of course, the emotional side of the story was something the blurb couldn’t cover – you need to read it to know the littlest details about their stories.

Although there is a connection between these three characters, their stories were not really connected. They have their own story, and even if there is difference between their time periods, age, and social status, Mitch Albom was able to create a good flow of their stories. What’s interesting is that he picked the perfect characters for this kind of story. They were (quite) shallow and flawed, but their thinking and decisions made the lessons clearer and on point.

I guess I have already outgrown my “self-help” kind of books phase, because in some ways, I found myself saying “I already know that.” Still, despite the predictability and the cheesiness, it was able to tug strings and it reminded me of things pertaining to time – the abundance and the limitations of it.

It is through that reasons that I still gave it 4 stars. Had I not went on a series of self-help books when I was younger, and had I not started valuing time after my father died, this might be a more powerful book for me. However, it is also true that we already know these many things, like – “Say ‘I love you’ while they’re still alive,” or “You never know what you got ’til it’s gone,” (none of which were directly related to this book, don’t worry), but sometimes, even if we already know these “words to live by,” living our daily lives made us “forget” such things and focus on what’s in front of us – work, studies, creating money, etc. This book, even if I already know the lessons it imply, still proved to be a good reminder and a way to adjust certain points of view.

This was a good book to start the year with.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in 2016 Book List, Book Talk, Inspirational, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

