#WomenRunTheWorldReadathon

phonto-4

Sometime in January, my dear friend Eunice sent a message on Viber regarding a month-long readathon she planned to do after Emma Watson made a book club about feminist reads and other works of literature about empowering women and gender equality. Now, I am not really a big feminist, although of course, being a woman, of course I want to read books about these topics, so I decided to join.

The readathon is not really strict when it comes to what books to read, but it has to be about within that scope. For this one, aside from checking the links Eunice shared on her blog, I also checked my own books and listed some which I think would fit into the category. In the end, I decided to choose these books:

IMG_8599

A Room of One’s Own by Sylvia Plath

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Push by Sapphire

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

A Doll House by Henrik Ibsen

The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin

Initially, I planned to start my readathon halfway through February because I wanted to join two other readathons – first one happening from February 1 to 7 (Tackle Your TBR), the other happening from February 8 to 14 (#ayearathon). I decided not to join the Tackle Your TBR readathon because I wasn’t able to finish my supposed to be last book for January in time, and I was about to go out of town that weekend. For the first week of February, I decided to just finish one book then read two books for #WomenRunTheWorldReadathon – The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros and The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin. At this point, I am putting this readathon on hold because I need to do #ayearathon, but starting February 15, I will focus on my feminist reads, and if I still have enough time, I might look for more books that fit the category.

Quick review of all the books I read for this readathon will be posted either on February 29 or March 1. Should you want to join the readathon, you can read Eunice’s original post HERE, or check the GoodReads page, or the hashtag on Instagram and Twitter.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Readathon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

