January 2016 Book Haul

Welcoming the new year, the biggest thing I have to teach myself is to become a smart book shopper. In the three years that I have been reading, different factors shape the reader that I am, and I have come to realize that in the past, I was quite the impulsive book shopper. I went through a phase where I would buy whatever book because it was cheap. There is a thrill in stacking books on my shelves, but looking at the books I own, there were some that I admit I didn’t want to read anymore. I truly feel sorry for the unread and unwanted books, so to save money and to prevent feeling guilty, I have to teach myself how to buy books that I know I will read.

For the first month of 2016, here are the books I acquired:

IMG_8477

Breaking it down in the order I acquired them…

IMG_8506

The very first book I bought this year was this copy of “The Thirty-Nine Steps” by John Buchan. I have had an eBook copy of this for a long time already, so seeing this in very good condition, I didn’t hesitate anymore. (85 pesos at Booksale, SM Fairview)

IMG_8500

Last December, member of Bookish Pinoys on Instagram had a book exchange activity. I was only expecting to receive Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver, but receiving my parcel, I was surprised that Jovel sent me a freebie – The Return by Jennifer L. Armentrout. It’s not my usual cup of tea, but I am so intrigued with JLA’s writing (last year seems to be her big year, releasing books left and right), so I might read this…but not in public because the cover is quite titillating. Thank you, Jovel!

IMG_8505

When I met with bookish girlfriends, Rexy gave me this book as her Christmas gift. I was very touched seeing this book because Rexy took note of my love for cats. Sometimes, unexpected gifts truly makes it more special. Thank you, Rexy! Meow.

IMG_8508

That same day, I bought myself a copy of Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan. When I got the idea of buying a book to remember the day by, it was difficult to choose which book to buy especially if you’re in a four-storey building filled with books. I chose to buy a Levithan book because he is one of my favorite authors, and because I am in the process of collecting all his books, I am sure to cherish this book. (399 pesos -20% Fullybooked, the Fort)

IMG_8501

These are the books I received from Eunice. Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros was supposed to be her Christmas gift for me, while The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy was her birthday gift for me. Thank you, Eun!

IMG_8504

A lunch with mom made me pass by Booksale and bought these books. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan was on my wish list after knowing the sad history about how the book came to be. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros I bought for the #WomenRunTheWorldReadathon, which I will talk about in a few days. Finally, I bought The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame because it was a very interesting children’s classic. If I liked this, I might buy a much better copy. (155 pesos + 115 pesos + 10 pesos Booksale, Ayala Fairview Terraces)

IMG_8503

About two weeks ago, I received a message from Kat on Instagram asking if I like James Patterson. I answered yes, and right then she asked for my address and sent me these books, Zoo and Tick Tock both co-written with Michael Ledwidge. In her note, she said that she added Birthright by Nora Roberts because she writes good romance novels and she wanted me to try her books as well. Thank you, Kat!

IMG_8507

Last book for the month was The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. Just last weekend, my mom, sister, and I traveled to Tagaytay, and this was my “book to remember the day by.” Actually, I was planning to buy a different book, but the book store didn’t have a copy of it, so I went for another Levithan book. (399 pesos National Book Store, Ayala Malls Serin Tagaytay)

In total, I acquired 14 books, 6 of which I bought, 1 was for the book exchange, and the rest were given as gifts and freebies. Six books bought in one month was a decent amount, me thinks… but because I have a handful of books arriving soon, I might take a pause in buying books, just until I received the books I already ordered.

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in 2016 Book Inventory, Book Inventory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

