Friday Finds | 15 – 21 January 2016

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm, where book bloggers share the books they found for the week that piqued their interest – be it from other book bloggers, booktubers, bookstagrammers, library, etcetera, etcetera. I am not sure though… I wanted to check A Daily Rhythm’s blog, but it was either down or no longer existing. I am contemplating if I would still post this, but I realized, the main reason why I joined this link up party was to keep tabs of the books I may want to read in the future, so I may as well continue doing so.

To shorten the length of this post, I will just post snippets of what the book is about, and every title is linked to its GoodReads’s page, so you can click on it to know more. Nine books I found this week:

friday01

“In Perfect Light” by Benjamin Alire Saenz – An adult contemporary fiction about two people who are forever altered after one single tragedy. I first saw this from a booktube video, took a screenshot of it, then a few days after, I saw a post featuring this book on Instagram and took a screenshot as well. Listing the books today, I realized I took two screenshots without really knowing it was the same book.

“First & Then” by Emma Mills – A young adult contemporary fiction that talks about sports, but the reason this book took my interest was that one time on Instagram, someone posted a pile of books that has this common thread (for the owner of the picture) and among the eight or so books on that pile, only two I haven’t read yet. Checking the page of this on GoodReads, I think I may read this pretty soon.

“The Opposite of Loneliness” by Marina Keegan – Based on a video I watched, Marina Keegan graduated magna cum laude, and one of her essays became well known in 2012. That same year, just a few days after graduating from college, she died in a car crash. This book is a posthumous collection of her essays and stories.

friday02

“The Unquiet Dead” by Ausma Zehanat Khan – Is a book I got see on another booktube video, this is a mystery thriller historical fiction from Canada.

“The Empathy Exams” by Leslie Jamison – is a collection of essays about, yes, empathy.

“Flowers for Algernon” by Daniel Keyes – Quoting a line from GoodReads, this book “is the beloved, classic story of a mentally disabled man whose experimental quest for intelligence mirrors that of Algernon, an extraordinary lab mouse.” Very interesting, yeah? Yeah.

friday03

“The Butterfly” by James M. Cain – I have to admit, the only reason why this took my interest was because the one who posted the picture on Instagram said there is a taboo topic in this book. No link to GoodReads, as the one they have had synopsis written in a language I couldn’t understand.

“Smaller and Smaller Circles” by F.H. Batacan – I am a Filipino, but I haven’t heard about this book until I heard it from Rincey Reads on YouTube. I truly want to read more Filipino literature, so this I will surely acquire this year.

“The Visionist” by Rachel Urquhart – I saw this while checking Bookoutlet… I thought it was a fantasy book, until I read that this was a historical fiction set in the 1800s, and is about a 15 year old girl who set fire on their farm to kill his abusive father.

Of these books, did anything capture your interest? ‘Til next Friday.

bookblogsig

 

 

This entry was posted in Friday Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

