Book Tag | A New Year, A New Book Tag

My dear friend Elena (of thequeenreads.wordpress.com) tagged me in few bookish tags before, but because I switched to WP from Blogger, the only tag I can start creating is this one. This tag was created by Reading with Luigi.

1. How many books have you read last year? Thoughts about your accomplishment?

  • I read 82 books plus 4 re-reads last year. I was 10 books short compared to 2014, but I wasn’t really sad it. I did feel that I was slow in my reading and that life events outweighed the idle time for reading, so overall it was still a good reading year, especially that I only set my goal to 75 books.

2. What was your biggest regret on reading / as a reader last year?

  • I regret putting my trust into this online seller, who turned out to be an irresponsible seller. I already put this event in my life behind me… but I just hate it that it is difficult for me to trust most online shops. Ever since this happened, I don’t think I bought one book from Instagram or Facebook based online book shop.

3. What are you most thankful for, that happened to you as a reader, last year?

  • 2015 is not really a big, big year for me when it comes to reading and books, but some things I was thankful for were…

march9

  • Setting foot inside Mt. Cloud Book Shop in Baguio City last March (and again in June),

july28

  • Attending the grand opening of Book and Borders Cafe last July,

sept19 (3) sept19 (2)

  • Attending the 36th MIBF with my mom and my sister…

sept19 (4)

  • …and with online turned real life friends Rexy and Cath,

sept19 (1)

  • Plus seeing Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher in person even from afar. My apologies for this not-so-good picture; it was difficult to be far from the stage with people walking to and fro. I just had to rely to my camera’s zoom capabilities to take pictures.

4. How many books are you planning to read this year?

  • I am planning to read 100 books this year. This is a big number and a hard to reach one at that for me, but setting this number doesn’t mean I’d go ahead and read ultra short books and those very easy to read ones just so I could hit the goal. This will be the toughest reading goal I set for myself, but with perseverance, I know I will hit this.

5. What are your goals in 2016 as a reader?

  • Aside from reading 100 books, I am also setting myself to read-my-damn-books. Since I started reading and book collecting, I noticed that I would buy certain books, but would read more eBooks, especially the newly released, hyped ones. As things around me change (relatives getting sick, people I know – mostly celebrities and families of friends – passing away), I have come to a realization that I have  to read the books I already bought. No need for me to wait ’til I am wrinkly and old before I would read them, because no one knows if I would reach that age or… knock on wood. At least, if my time is up, then I could say for myself that I have read the books I wanted to read, and that the money I used in buying the books in my library weren’t wasted. Other than that, I am also plan to expand my reading horizon – reading more genres (and sub-genres), reading books from different parts of the world, reading non-fiction, and reading Filipino literature.

6. What is your biggest bookish dream, that you wish to happen this year?

  • I wish for David Levithan to visit the Philippines and sign books. I wish to complete Haruki Murakami’s books. I wish for us Bookish Pinoys admins to spend a day together physically…even just for a few hours.

7. If you’ll wake up after celebrating the new year into a fictional place and you’ll have to spend you entire 2016 there, what fictional place would it be? Who two fictional characters would you want to spend your 2016 with?

  • This is a difficult one because I haven’t read a lot of fantasy books yet, but I think I would like to spend my year at the countryside where Princess Lia spent time after leaving her kingdom (The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson), and I would like to take Judy Abbott (Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster) and Jo March (Little Women by Louisa May Alcott) with me because I love their vibrant spirits and their humble hearts.

I won’t be tagging anyone as I still don’t have a lot of book blogger friends, but if you read this, consider yourself tagged.

Thank you for tagging me, E!

bookblogsig

This entry was posted in Book Tags. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

