Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant to Get to, but Didn’t

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog meme hosted by Broke and the Bookish. For this week, the topic is top ten 2015 releases I meant to get to, but didn’t. This will be a random order, with a shortened version of the synopsis and reasons why I want them and why I didn’t get to read them the year it was released.

topten01

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara – A powerful and disturbing novel about four classmates, but is centered on of them, Jude. A nominee for the 2015 Man Booker Prize, I wanted to read this the day I got to see it on Instagram, but didn’t get to read it because I know I would love the story and didn’t want to read it on eBook format as I want to place sticky tabs on pages with quotable lines. Unfortunately, the price of the book was way too much for me, so I wasn’t able to buy one.

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff – A novel about a marriage of about 24 years, I wasn’t able to read this because I wasn’t able to get ahold of a copy. I wanted to read this because the blurb reminds me so much of “Revolutionary Road,” and I quite like stories like that. I promise to read this book in 2016.

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten – Copying from GoodReads, “June barely has time to mourn the death of her best friend Delia, before Delia’s ex-boyfriend convinces her Delia was murdered, and June is swept into a tangle of lies, deceit, and conspiracy.” As I slowly veer away from YA cheesy romantic or friendship contemporaries, I still like YA realistic fiction, but of different genre – mystery, and those about mental issues. It was unfortunate that I wasn’t able to read this right away, but we’ll see if I will pick this up this year.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – The only thing I know about this book is that it is about Martial Law and that it is about a slave and a soldier, both with personal missions to accomplish. I want to read this book because my friend Krish liked it, and I want to read more fantasy books, so even if I didn’t get to read this in 2015, I am quite sure I will pick this up sooners rather than laters.

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga – Another YA book about plotting a suicide, this is becoming a popular trope in YA Literature, but is still something that I want to read. Being someone who once thought about ending my own life, I want to read stories about characters who were in the same position.

topten02

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn – A suspense short story, I wanted to read this because it’s by Gillian Flynn, but while I was in a book store the week it was released, somebody else got to buy the only copy they had, so I wasn’t able to buy it. I might buy my copy this week, but I won’t be reading this until September (for #ayearathon), so reason for me to rush.

Armada by Ernest Cline – I loved Ernest Cline’s first book, “Ready Player One,” making this my most anticipated release of 2015, but during MIBF, I asked for a copy of this, but the only copy the book store had was damaged (dust jacket crease). For a book with mixed reviews, I certainly don’t want to pay full price, so I will just wait for another book sale before I can read this. For those interested, this is a YA science fiction about a boy wanting an escape by imagining about going on a space adventure, until he sees a flying saucer…in real life.

November 9 by Colleen Hoover – Keeping it short, this is an NA contemporary romance book about two people who meet each other every November 9, I admit I had a few hesitations about this book, fearing this might be “another One Day by David Nicholls.” However, raves from bookish friends and pals convinced me to give it a try, and I was so grateful that I got to receive a free copy of the book thanks to a very generous bookstagrammer, but I wasn’t able to read it in 2015 because by December, I was just so lazy to read. I will be reading this next month.

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson – Sequel to “The Kiss of Deception,” this is the only book on this list that I actually started reading last December. Unfortunately, by mid-December, I just lost interest in reading… maybe it was because it’s Christmastime and it’s time to go merry making, but the thing is, I am not sure now if I will pick this up again this year, because I just couldn’t get into it. Maybe I will just wait ’til all the books in this series will be out before I marathon them.

Marrow by Tarryn Fisher – A dark, mystery-suspense about a young woman and her wheelchair bound neighbor investigating about the whereabouts of a girl who just went missing. It was this year when I first read a book by Tarryn Fisher (Love Me With Lies series), and I liked her writing style. It was enough for me to crave for more of her books, but the only reason why I didn’t get to read this is because I love discovering new authors.

I sure want to read all these this year, but there is no assurance. I will look back on this list by the end of the year and see which ones I did get to read.

Jayne.

This entry was posted in Top 10 Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant to Get to, but Didn’t

  1. Crini says:

    I want to read A Little Life this year too! It’s not even the kind of book that I usually read but I’ve heard so many good things from so many people, especially people who I trust.

    I totally understand not wanting to pay full price for Armada. Compared to RPO it really wasn’t all that good but I still liked it quite a lot by not expecting too much when I went into it.

    Like

  2. Marrow and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls definitely look like books I need to pick up. Good luck getting these read this year. I think we all had some we should have picked up bit didn’t.

    Like

  3. _giovannard says:

    Suicide Notes From Beautiful Girls, also made my Top Ten! I’ve heard a lot of good things and I can’t wait to get my hands on it! I’ve already read My Heart & Other Black Holes, and I LOVED it! Hopefully you will get to it soon! πŸ™‚

    My TTT! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Maria says:

    So many good-looking books on this list, and I love your balance between YA and adult. Fates and Furies is on list as well, and I’ve heard amazing things about A Little Life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

