Top 10 Books for 2014

On my second year of reading, I challenged myself to read 60 books, 10 books more than what I set myself to do the year before. So far, this has been my best year as far as reading is concerned, because not only did I get to read 92 books, it was also this year that I finally opened a bookstagram page, shared a book club (and a wonderful friendship) with awesome bookstagrammers (@bookishpinoys on Instagram), attended another book signing event (Marie Lu’s), and I finally had my dream book case / book shelves. These changes helped mold me into (what I believe as) a better reader.

If choosing ten books out of 54 for 2013 was difficult… imagine what I had to go through for this year. Difficult as it may be, here are my top 10 books for 2014 –

2014favs_01

  • The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak
  • The History of Love” by Nicole Krauss
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Room” by Emma Donoghue
  • Sharp Objects” by Gillian Flynn

This year, YA books in general seemed to reign supreme with majority of the readers – BookTubers and Bookstagrammers alike post more and more YA books, and readers either hated or loved it. I admit, I love YA books – these are my guilty pleasures, and although I could say there are a lot of “meh” YA books, there are some beautifully written books, two of which made the top 5. My love for historical fiction set in WW2 continued this year, and I discovered another favorite genre – psychological thriller.

2014favs_02

  • Norwegian Wood” by Haruki Murakami
  • The Sea of Tranquility” by Katja Millay
  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry” by Gabrielle Zevin
  • Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline
  • Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

In my quest to discover more, I had the pleasure to read my first sci-fi book, as well as my first taste of magical realism, through Haruki Murakami’s books (two of which I read this year). I also got to read a middle-grade contemporary novel, which was fun and heartwarming to read.

Since I got to read 92 books, I think this post deserves honorable mentions –

  • All the Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr
  • Angela’s Ashes” by Frank McCourt
  • We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart
  • And Then There Were None” by Agatha Christie
  • Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour” by Morgan Matson

I still love realistic fiction and contemporary books. I guess that’s just how I am wired. I did get to read a few fantasy books (nothing super epic though), but as my love for these genres intensifies, I was slowly falling out of love for dystopian books.

These books are in random order, but my top favorite book for this year is “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak. If you’re a YA novel snob, I highly recommend you read this.

Book talk for the books mentioned will be posted in the days to come.

Jayne

 

This entry was posted in 2014 Book List, Favorite Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

