Top 10 Books for 2013

Yeah, right… 2013. I know that seems like eons away, but the thing is, I want to make this blog as organized as possible, and since my reading life started in 2013, I might as well include them (plus 2014 and 2015 reads) here so everything is just in one place.

In 2013, I read a total of 54 books – a very good amount of reads for a person who started reading “full time” April of that year, and who was lucky for reading at least one or two books in a year (most of my years of existence yielded zero number of books read). For this year, majority of the books I read were eBooks, as this was the year of adjustment – I bought books, yes, but there was a shadow of doubt in me if I could actually read continuously or if this was all a fad.

Coming up with Top 10 books seemed easier considering I only have 54 books to choose from, but as I am writing this, I realized listing down the top books for the year wasn’t as easy as it sounded.

My top 10 books for 2013 in random order:

2013favs_01

  • The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  • Code Name Verity” by Elizabeth Wein
  • When the Elephants Dance” by Tess Uriza Holthe
  • The Five People You Meet in Heaven” by Mitch Albom
  • Daddy-Long-Legs” by Jean Webster

At the top half of my list are two children’s classics, two WW2 novels, and an inspirational book. Prior to this year, I could say I wasn’t into war stories. My late father was a frustrated soldier (he wanted to enlist himself, but grandpa didn’t want to – trauma brought by WW2). Growing up, I often shake my head whenever dad would watch war related movies, and I just read “Code Name Verity” as an homage to him. I didn’t realize I would fall in love with it, and historical fiction set in WW2 is now one of my favorite genres.

2013favs_02

  • Every Day” by David Levithan
  • The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green
  • The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho
  • The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky

Capping the list are these awesome books, three of which are YA. I am grateful I got to read these books when it wasn’t overly hyped (though there was a hype surrounding these books at that time), making them a good part of my reading life. As a year of discovery and adjustment, I am very much into reading at least one book from a known author, just to test the waters if I would love their writing or not.

I did get to read “awful” and “so-so” books that year, something I am not proud of, but I regret nothing. Back then, my main reason to read was to entertain myself – using books as solace after a tiring day. Reading has been an awesome experience, and these books made me look forward to more books.

I can’t rank these books in order, but if you must know, my top favorite is “Code Name Verity” by Elizabeth Wein. That book surprised me in many ways.

In depth book talk about these ten books will be posted in the days to come.

Jayne

 

This entry was posted in 2013 Book List, Favorite Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

